January 24 Exodus 9-11; Luke 24

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Leave the Results to God | Kelley DeAses

S~ The Lord had said to Moses, “Pharoah will refuse to listen to you — so that my wonders may be multiplied in Egypt.”  Exodus 11:9 (NIV)

O~ What the Lord called Moses to was obedience.  Once God had his attention at the burning bush, He directed Moses to speak to Pharoah and say certain things at certain times.  Moses was not ultimately responsible for turning Pharoah’s heart by pleading hard enough or making a more persuasive argument.

A~ We have only to do the same.  God is giving me opportunities to share my passion for daily Bible reading.  Just in a couple months’ time I got the chance to teach a class at my parents’ church, started a group in my living room of moms of kids my son goes to school with, and am slated to share with our long-time group of married couples who meet regularly at our house for Bible study and prayer.  Similarly, God has given my husband a platform to speak at his workplace, and he has felt a burden to share about reading The Word, the SOAP method, and also to invite men to Christian events and concerts to encourage them in their walks. But one of the lessons we can both glean from Moses’ dealings with Pharoah is that we should deliver the message God has laid on our hearts and not fret over who receives it or how or when.  That part is God’s department.

P~ Father, I pray You sustain our enthusiasm to speak Your words as we have opportunity, but that we always stay clear it is Your message and You will accomplish Your purposes in Your time.

The Plagues | Joni Tyner

S~ I will strike Pharaoh and the land of Egypt with one more blow.  After that, Pharaoh will let you leave this country. In fact, he will be so eager to get rid of you that he will force you all to leave. Exodus 11:1 (NLT)

O~ This morning I read through all of the terrible plagues that God sent to the Pharaoh and people of Egypt.  God sent some miserable circumstances to Pharaoh in an attempt to get his attention.  My study Bible notes indicate that God was giving Pharaoh opportunity to change his mind before that last plague of losing all the first  born sons. It references Ezekiel 33:11 , “I take no pleasure in the death of wicked people.”  Pharaoh had free will, just like us, to either repent and turn towards God or to remain stubborn with a hardened heart.

A~ As I was reading this scripture this morning, I felt like shouting at Pharaoh, “God’s a nice guy, it is so much easier to love and worship Him….just do it!!”  But, his heart of hardened.  He had surrounded himself with people who worshipped him and made him extremely prideful.  He liked his extravagant lifestyle.  He liked his power.

P~ Dear Lord, keep my heart tender and close to You.  I pray that I am receptive to Your guidance and instruction and that it doesn’t take disaster upon disaster to get my attention and humility.  Please help me cultivate relationships that will encourage and teach me humility and obedience.  I also pray for believers who have drifted from You this morning,  soften their hearts, bring them to repentance, and use circumstances to strengthen their faith and give You glory.

Open My Mind | Susan Aken

S~ Then he opened their minds so they could understand the Scriptures. Luke 24:25 (NIV)

O~ When Jesus rose from the dead; his disciples had a hard time comprehending it at first. Then He reminded them that all these things were a fulfillment of Scripture. He opened their minds to understand all the Scriptures.

A~ Jesus is still the one who gives us the ability to understand the Word of God. His Word is supernatural. It is alive and powerful. We cannot fully comprehend it with human wisdom. I want this to be my prayer each time I open His word:

P~ Jesus, please open my mind so that I can understand the Scriptures. Let your truth take root in my heart and in my mind.

Fearless! | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ “Why are you frightened?” he asked. “Why do you doubt who I am?”  Luke 24:38 (NLT)

O~ Jesus rose from the dead and appeared to his disciples and the two from Emmaus.  As the two from Emmaus were telling their story of how Jesus appeared to them, Jesus stood there among them.  And they were terribly frightened, because they thought he was a ghost. This speaks to me of fear in general.

A~  As I approach my birthday, I reflect on this verse and look back at the years I’ve walked with God and I see how much in fear I still live.  These words of Jesus call me to live in truth, to have faith in him and not doubt what he can do.  I have made progress, but still have a long way to go.

P~  Dear Jesus, when I live in fear I don’t feel free to live for you.  Help me to live today, standing on your promises, keeping my ears and eyes on you and do what you show me and leave the rest to you.  Thank you for your grace that is sufficient for me.  I love you.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on January 24, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

