January 20 Genesis 49, 50; Psalm 8; Luke 20

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

It’s for your good | Nikki Metzger

S~ You intended to harm me, but god intended it all for good.  He brought me to this position so I could….  Genesis 50:20 (NLT)

O~ The speaker of these words has been in some pretty dark places.  Places and situations and relationships that could have tore him up and left him barely breathing.  Now he has time and his side to look back and a God greater than anything who used all the bad for good.

A~ You, gentle reader, are on my heart today!  There is that black cloud in your life that is suffocating, you feel powerless to do anything about it.  That thing you think you can handle, but it’s really just tearing you up inside.

Let me just speak these words, tried and true, over you.

You think this is intended to harm you, but God intends it all for good.  He brought you to this position so you can…….

God has plans, good plans, for what you are going through!  His plans are for good and not disaster, to give you a future and a hope. (Jeremiah 29:11)

He loves you and He sees you!

You will not be in this place forever!

P~ Father, thank You for Your word!  I pray for every single person reading this, that they find comfort and Your peace in their situation.  God, please speak truth and hope in their life and give them a desire to seek Your above all!  Thank You!  In Jesus’ Name I pray!

Out of the Mouths of Babes | Kelley DeAses

S~  From the lips of children and infants you have ordained praise.  Psalm 8:2a (NIV)

O~  My study Bible has the following note:  “How do babies praise God?  Even a newborn’s first cry can be an eloquent expression of praise to the God who made us.  If mountains, hills, and trees can “sing” the praises of God (Isaiah 55:12) then why not infants?”

A~  It is probably one of greatest joys of my life to hear one of my children pray, praise, or acknowledge God’s hand at work in their life.  For the older one (who is not a child anymore, but my baby always) his relationship with the Lord has become a calling to ministry.  And wherever that leads him vocationally and geographically, I am content to know his genuinely walking with the Lord and seeking His direction at every turn.  But even my little one from a young age has always spoken freely of God.  As a toddler, he would talk about the time when he was a “baby swimming around in mommy’s tummy when God zapped him with power.”  And as recently as last night, when I was reading to him from The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe, he suddenly got an epiphany and exclaimed, “Aslan is like Jesus!”  While I confess that neither child’s parents, schools, or churches have done a perfect job representing the love of God all the time, I am happy to know each young man has gotten a positive, attractive glimpse of who God is.

P~  Father, continue to cultivate hearts of praise in my children so they can represent You well to their generation and the next.

Repent | Kim Chipman

S~ The teachers of religious law and the leading priests wanted to arrest Jesus immediately because they realized he was telling the story against them—they were the wicked farmers. But they were afraid of the people’s reaction. Luke 20:19 (NLT)

O~ Jesus just told the parable of the evil farmers…a man planted a vineyard and leased it to tenant farmers, When he sent people to collect his share of the harvest (from HIS land) the farmers beat them and sent them away one by one. He thought sending his son would work, but they killed him. The religious leaders knew Jesus was telling a story about them, but they didn’t repent…they wanted to arrest Him. The only reason they didn’t was because they were afraid of the people’s reaction.

A~ When you illuminate an area in my life that I need to repent of how do I take that? Do I humbly repent? Or do I justify myself? When you send wonderful people in my life that love You and care about me do I listen when they share hard things? Or do I become defensive…beat them and send them on their way one by one. When I *know* you are talking about me through Your Word or other people…when I *realize* You are telling personal message just for me…How do I respond? Help me to honor and fear You alone…not the reaction of people.

P~ Father, I want to respond well. I know I’m stubborn and prideful and hard headed and a big fat mess. Help me to humble myself to Your voice and to not only hear You but respond to You in repentance and obedience. I love You!

God of the Living | Susan Aken

S~ He is not the God of the dead, but of the living, for to him all are alive. Luke 20:38 (NIV)

O~ Jesus is referring to when God called Himself “the God of Abraham, and the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.”

A~ This verse really struck me this morning. God does not see death the same way we do because to Him “all are alive.” We see dead bodies. God sees souls that never die. He has never seen a believer die, only move from one place to another. The real tragedy is when a soul leaves this earth without Jesus. Then they are cut off from God forever. God sees and understands our grief. He knows it causes us pain when loved ones leave this earth but He also knows how temporary our grief is and He sees their joy in heaven. What breaks His heart are those who do not know Him. Why does this not break my heart everyday?

P~ Father, Open my eyes to see those all around me who need you. Help me to be a light to them. Please show your love through me. Bring all of your sheep into the fold. Thank you that I belong to you and I will never die. Praise your Holy name!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on January 20, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

