January 11 Genesis 27, 28; Psalm 4; Luke 11

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Words | Kelley DeAses

S~  May those who curse you be cursed and those who bless you be blessed.  Genesis 27:29 (NIV)

O~  Powerful things — blessings and curses — especially in the time and culture of Isaac and his sons.  While the story of Jacob and Esau is one I have known since childhood, it really is pretty twisted when you think about what transpired.  In the midst of such dysfunction where dad loves one son more than the other and mom loves the other more, which must certainly have given rise to some marital discord, half the family schemes against the other half using lies and disguise to manipulate a blessing upon one son which was meant for the other.  Whew! (Lest we ever doubt the authenticity of the Bible, who would make this stuff up and include it in a sacred text if it weren’t factual?!)

A~  My college boy experienced his own crazy scenario involving words and blessings and curses just the other day.  He is home from school for a few weeks on Christmas break and was asked by his beloved independent living teacher from high school to speak to her class about college life.  No sooner than the arrangements were made, she recanted the invitation, citing rumors she had heard that my son had been drinking and partying at school in Chicago.  Based on this hearsay, she texted him to explain she didn’t think he was a good role model for her high school students.  My son was deeply wounded to find his teacher (and friend) would believe a lie about him and not even seek him out in person to sort out what the truth really was. I am proud to report he made an appointment to sit down with her to dispel these rumors and is still willing to share with her class.  But this was a painful reminder of the power words can have either to edify or to hurt people.

P~  Father, Help me to fully comprehend the impact my own words can have.  Help me guard my tongue against hurtfulness, or even carelessness, in what I say.

The Gift of the Holy Spirit | Kim Chipman

S~ So if you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him. Luke 11:13 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is teaching about persistence in prayer. He says “keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you.”

A~ I have read this portion of Scripture and heard sermons about it more times than I could count. I’ve never noticed that Jesus is referring to the Father giving the HOLY SPIRIT to those who ask. Not pray and keep asking for what I want to fit in my comfortable life and just keep begging so You give me my way and You promise to finally give in. No. There is nothing more precious than the gift of Your presence. By praying You promise the Holy Spirit. Prayer, then, is more about communing with You and being filled by You than about getting my way or informing You of my needs (like You need me to tell You that). Persistent prayer gets me the Holy Spirit and the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self control. What more could I possibly want!?

P~ Thank You for revealing this truth to me today! What a gift prayer is. Apart from You I can do nothing! I love You~

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

 

Posted on January 11, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

