January 8 Genesis 20,21,22; Luke 8

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Trust And Obey | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ The next morning Abraham got up early.  He saddled his donkey and took two of his servants with him, along with his son Isaac.  Then he chopped the wood to build a fire for a burnt offering and set out for the place God had told him to go.  Genesis 22:3 (NLT)

O~  God told Abraham to take his son, Isaac to Moriah to sacrifice him there.  Abraham obeyed.

A~  “So wait, to the mountain to sacrifice him? But God, didn’t you give this boy to me? Didn’t you say you would multiply my descendents like the stars in the sky, through this very son of mine?” Questions, and more questions would be my response.  And Abraham obeyed.

Abraham got up, prepared his donkey, chopped the wood, and brought his son.

Help me to be quick to obey, even when it doesn’t make sense to me.

P~  Heavenly Father, you are good and yes, I can trust you, you are trustworthy.  Help me trust and obey especially when the crazy turns of life come my way.

HOW I hear!? | Kim Chipman

S~ So pay attention to how you hear. To those who listen to my teaching, more understanding will be given. But for those who are not listening, even what they think they understand will be taken away from them. Luke 8:18 (NLT)

O~ Jesus just told the parable of the 4 soils and explained it to the disciples. He wraps up with “pay attention to how you hear”

A~ HOW I hear!? In the parable the seed is Your Word. HOW I hear it is important. If I listen I will understand even more. So, HOW do I hear and listen well so I grow in understanding?

You promise in Jeremiah 29:13 that if I look for You wholeheartedly I will find You.

I know You don’t make faith complicated, help me to see this…While walking with You is simple (as in not complicated) it is not easy. I think this is where reading plus SOAP journaling becomes so crucial to my growth. And not just journaling SOAP, but wholeheartedly and genuinely making choices to meditate on Your Word…on that one gem you give me each morning…and choosing to actually DO the work to apply the truth You reveal to my life. This means I need to sit and humbly listen then choose to apply Your Word to MY life. I can choose to fix my thoughts on Your truth, I can choose words that glorify You, I can choose to listen intently and humbly to the whispers of the Holy Spirit and live in a way that reflects You more and more.

Or not.

THAT is HOW I can hear.

P~ Lord, help me to be continually humble before You. Help me to hear and listen and apply Your truth so that I will be given even more understanding and You will be glorified through me. I love You!

One Woman’s Struggle | Michelle Myers

S~ A woman was in the crowd who had been bleeding for twelve years, but no one was able to heal her.  She came up behind Jesus and touched the edge of his coat, and instantly her bleeding stopped. Luke 8:43-44 (NCV)

O/A~ There are several important issues going on in these two versus.  First, bleeding for twelve years is along time to be bleeding.  After so many years, I wonder if this woman ever had a hard time hoping or believing that she would be healed.  Endurance can be a hard thing.  Second, no one was able to heal her but Jesus.  Obviously, this is true for all of our ailments; whether they be physical or psychological.  Third, she had to take the initiative.  Not only could nobody heal her, but Jesus, nobody could get her to take responsibility for getting the healing.  I am beginning to realize that in some areas where healing needs to occur, in different relationships, there is nothing more that I can do.  Until these people recognize that there are issues from their past, decide to deal with those issues, and open their hearts to the healing that Jesus provides, there is nothing more that I can do for them.  My responsibility is to love them.  I can do that.  And, once again, because their issues from the past and the hurt that it has caused them, can easily change their moods, behavior, and reactions towards me, I have a responsibility to protect and take care of myself.  I have a responsibility to take the time necessary to go to God and read His word.  This helps me remind me, who I am in Him, helps remind me to have hope, and many times, just helps me endure the day with a loving and peaceful spirit.  Lastly, after twelve long years of dealing with the same miserable issue, and in HIS perfect timing, she was instantly healed.  What if she decided two years before that to give up?  What if she had decided there was no use in trying?  What if others who had watched her suffer, try, and not get healing for twelve years, discouraged her from stepping out in faith, once again, and she had listened to them?  She would have missed her miracle.  Her interaction and time with Jesus may have seemed pretty small or pretty insignificant, yet it wasn’t.  It had changed the course of her life, and would be read by countless people, providing hope to many for thousands of years.  That is not insignificant or small at all!

P~ God, I am so thankful for YOUR healing power.  I am so thankful for YOUR wisdom.  Please continue to give me wisdom, in regards to where my responsibilities begin and end; and the strength to endure.  I pray that others open their hearts and minds to the healing that YOU can provide, so they can be the husbands, wives, sisters, mothers, etc. that you created them to be.

Testify | Susan Aken

S~ Then the woman, seeing that she could not go unnoticed, came trembling and fell at his feet. In the presence of all the people, she told why she had touched him and how she had been instantly healed. Luke 8:47 (NIV)

O~ While Jesus was in the midst of a crowd, pushing him from every side, a woman who was sick touched his robe in order to find healing. No one saw her (He was being touched from every side). She was completely unnoticed. But Jesus knew she touched Him and she was healed. She wanted to remain unnoticed and hidden in the crowd but Jesus called her out and brought her to the attention of all.

A~ Jesus has helped me in so many ways since He gave me salvation when I was 13. He is my Savior, my comforter, my peace, my hope and my everything. He has answered so many prayers in my life. What do I do when He touches my life and answers prayers? Do I give Him glory or do I keep it to myself? Do I try to stay hidden? There have been many times I lived like a secret believer. Not in the sense of denying Him but by not telling others what He has done for me. The woman just wanted to be healed and then go back home without anyone knowing but Jesus wanted her to publicly give Him the glory for her healing. I want to be more open and willing to give Him glory for all He does and has done in my life. I don’t want to hide like this woman tried to do.

P~ Lord, please be glorified in my life. You have given me so much! You saved me and redeemed me! I don’t want to hide that or to hide the light you are in my life. Please shine through me. Open my eyes to the ways I can tell others all you have done for me. Thank you for your unconditional love and patience.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

 

Posted on January 8, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

