January 6 Genesis 15,16,17; Luke 6

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Faith | Kim Chipman

S~ And Abram believed the Lord, and the Lord counted him as righteous because of his faith. Genesis 15:6 (NLT)

O~ Abram and his wife were OLD and had no children. The Lord promised Abram that his descendants would be as many as the stars in the sky. That seems pretty unbelievable for an old man with no children. But Abram believed.

A~ Abram did lots of good things but he was counted righteous because of his faith. Because he believed You. What am I not believing You for? What areas of my life am I trying to figure out instead of trusting You? My actions should come as a result of my faith…not an attempt to earn Your favor or approval. My actions, even the really good things I do, will not make me right with You. My faith will. My belief. Choosing to trust that You are who You say You are and You can do what You say You can do. 

P~ Lord, You know my heart. Help me to see areas where I am not fully believing You – or where I am believing a lie. Grow my faith. I love You!

What a Gift! | Susan Aken

S~ Abram believed the LORD, and he credited it to him as righteousness. Genesis 15:6 (NIV)

O~ God told Abram the impossible would happen. He would have offspring of his own flesh and blood more numerous than the stars. Yet, Abram and Sarah were beyond childbearing years and childless. We know how impossible that would be. But Abram believed God. The LORD credited that belief to Abram as righteousness. Abram was still a sinner but because he believed, God now saw him as righteous. Abram didn’t know how God would make it happen, he just knew he trusted God’s word.

A~ Romans 4:18-25 gives us some fantastic news. In verses 23-25 it is written, “The words ‘it was credited to him’ were written not for him alone, but also for us, to whom God will credit righteousness—for us who believe in him who raised Jesus our Lord from the dead. He was delivered over to death for our sins and was raised to life for our justification.” Praise God! We also are credited with righteousness when we believe the Gospel!

P~ Thank you Jesus for dying for my sins and for conquering death for me! Thank you Father that when I believed in Jesus, you credited me with righteousness. Jesus, you are my righteousness, my salvation, my hope and my life. Thank you for saving me and giving me everything I need. I love you!

He Sees The Big Picture | Michelle Myers

S~ Do to others what you would want them to do to you.  Luke 6:31 (NCV)

O/A~ I can be pretty naïve about the evil and wickedness in the world, and how the enemy works through other people to carry out his agenda.  God has really shown me that it is not only important to “do to others what I would want them to do to me”, but don’t expect others to “do to me what they would want me to do to them”.  Not everyone has the same desire to follow God, be a light in a dark world, or hold themselves accountable for their own lives and salvation.

Not everyone, for whatever reason, has the capacity to even see how their words, thoughts, and actions don’t align with God.  When someone is asking or expecting me to do something for them, that if I would be in their shoes, I would want them to do for me, I need to go to God, pray, and look toward him for answers.

On the surface, the situation may appear to be similar to something that I might experience, but God sees the entire picture, even what is below the surface.  He may see my helping someone as enabling them, because they have spent money on an addiction, and that is why they don’t have money for a bill or repair.  He may see that their hearts are not right, and that they don’t really need my help, but don’t want to take responsibility or are trying to manipulate me.  All of which, I would not willingly do to someone else, nor would I expect them to do for me if I was being irresponsible with money, being lazy or unaccountable, or trying to control or manipulate them.  Therefore, the “doing to them”, it is not the same as the “doing to them, I would want them to do to me”.

P~ Once again God, thank you for your wisdom.  Continue to show me, as I often do want to help people, believe the best in people, and have relationships with people.  Yet, I have not always been nor has my assistance always been valued, appreciated, or even truly helpful.  Therefore, I need your big picture knowledge and your big picture guidance.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on January 6, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

