January 2 Genesis 3, 4, 5; Luke 2

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Satisfied | Joni Tyner

S~ She saw that the tree was beautiful and its fruit looked delicious, and she wanted the wisdom it would give her. So she took some of the fruit and ate it. Then she gave some to her husband who was with her, and he ate it, too. Genesis 3: 6  (NLT)

O~ Eve is in the garden. God has given she and Adam a beautiful garden that is made in perfection.  Think about it, the climate and beauty of heaven on earth.  (I’m sure the mosquitoes didn’t bother their daily picnics!—jk)  The Bible doesn’t really indicate how long they were in the garden before Eve grew discontent and wanted the one thing she was told was off limits.  I wonder, was it days, months, decades?   How long does it take to before something wonderful becomes ordinary?  Eve (with the help and nudging of Satan) started to focus on the thing she didn’t have .  She lost her sense of gratitude of all she had and fretted over that little piece of fruit that God chose to hold back from her.

A~ While visiting my brother in law’s church for Christmas Eve, the church was giving away a free book, “Satisfied—Discovering Contentment in a World of Consumption” – by Jeff Manion.   This book examines why Americans are always looking for something more, why it is so hard to be satisfied with what we have.  He gives many examples of everyday people who are initially feeling grateful and blessed with their circumstances until they compare themselves to ___________.   There was a young couple who were thrilled with their new starter home until they visited friends with a high end kitchen complete with stainless steel appliances and granite counters. Their friend’s house has a fancy patio with modern furniture.  Another lady sees her husband coming up short when she compares him to other men whom she perceives as more good looking, affectionate or financially stable. Comparison destroys our joy.  It will either cause us feel like God jipped us off or it will make us prideful if we compare and see ourselves as the better one.

My application is a journey, a work in progress.  I’m well aware and do try to be grateful for the many blessings in my life, but I seriously feel bombarded by consumerism at every turn.  This book details key thoughts to train ourselves to be more content. I love this quote, “Contentment is not achieved through getting everything we want but by training the heart to experience full joy and deep peace even when we don’t have what we want.”  The book also covers how our identity in Christ is essential to being satisfied as well as serving and sharing with others. I have provided the Amazon link should anyone be interested in checking this quick read out. Click HERE

P~ Dear Lord, please help me be satisfied in the life I have. I want to be laser focused to keep my eyes on You instead of the world’s stuff.  Thank you for the many, many blessings I have.  I love You!!

Walk With God | Susan Aken

S~ Enoch walked with God after he fathered Methuselah 300 years and had other sons and daughters….Enoch walked with God, and was not, for God took him. Genesis 5:22,24 (ESV)

O~ Enoch walked with God for over 300 years. What a legacy and it is repeated in 3 verses so this must have defined who Enoch was. He was a man who walked faithfully with God.

A~ When I read this, I long for the same thing. I want my life to be characterized by walking with God. Walking with God means keeping in step with Him, letting Him lead the way. It means following His lead even if I don’t understand. It means staying in fellowship with Him. Enoch was so in synch with God that he just went up to heaven at the end of his life. He kept walking with Him right into heaven. He stayed faithful for at least 300 years. I could look back at all the days I have not been faithful to walk with God but I would rather focus on walking with Him today and seeking to walk with Him everyday to come. I want to walk with God.

P~ Father, thank you for your faithfulness, your love and your grace. I need you so much Lord! Please enable me to faithfully walk with you and stay in step with you. Help me to follow you no matter what. I need you, more than anything; I need you Lord. Thank you that you never turn me away. I love you.

Just For Us | Kim Chipman

S~ After seeing him, the shepherds told everyone what had happened and what the angel had said to them about this child…but Mary kept all these things in her heart and thought about them often. Luke 2:17, 19 (NLT)

O~ Jesus was born! The shepherds told everyone…but Mary kept all these things in her heart…

A~ Sometimes the events of my life are to be shared – by me or by someone else – sometimes not. For Mary, the events of Jesus’ birth were not for her to tell, but for her personal treasure. There are times and seasons for both. There are times an event or lesson may just be for You and I to share, other times others need to hear my story.

P~ Help me to discern this, Lord. And thank you for being so personal that some things are just for us…I love You!

Treasuring The Bigger Picture | Michelle Myers

S~ But Mary treasured these things and continued to think about them. Luke 2:19 (NCV)

O~ Right after Jesus is born, the shepherds came in and told everyone what the angels had said to them, about Jesus’ birth, Him being the Savior, etc.  Everyone else was amazed.  I think Mary saw the bigger picture.  She knew the value and significance of what this meant.

A~ My life has completely changed in the last few years.  My surroundings are different.  My job is different.  My kids are changing and entering into new phases of their lives.  My marriage has changed.  I can no longer have the same trust with my husband that I once had.  I can not just “take his word for it” anymore.

I have spent many days “fighting” these changes.  At times it makes me angry.  At times it confuses me.  At times I feel hopeless.  Even as God has shown me little by little, how the pieces fit together, and how He has equipped me to be married to my husband, raise my children, and life the life He chose for me, not the one I planned; I can waste a lot of time struggling with Him for my will.

As I continue to think about them…. constantly, some days….. and l begin to accept the bigger picture, little by little, my heart begins to change and I am able to treasure them more.  I am sure I will still have days where I “fight” with Him, because this wasn’t my plan, it wasn’t fair,  and I don’t think I can do it.  Yet, He will be there to remind me, that I am here to carry out His plan.  He will remind me of my own words to my students, “Life is fair, because at some point and in some way it is unfair to everyone.”  And He will take me back to times, when I did what I thought I couldn’t do, and show me how He was there to help me.

P~ Thank you God for never giving up on me.  Thank you for putting up with me.  Please continue to help me see the bigger picture and remind me that you are here to help me.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on January 2, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You girls! It seems as if you write from my heart! Thank you so much for your transparency and dedication to this ministry! You are amazing!

Leave a Reply

