December 31 Revelation 19,20,21,22

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Witness For Jesus | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Then I fell down at his feet to worship him, but he said, “No don’t worship me.  For I am a servant of God just like you and other believers who testify of their faith in Jesus.  Worship God.  For the essence of prophecy is to give a clear witness for Jesus.  Revelation 19:10 (NLT)

O~  The angel reminds John that he is the same as John and other believers who testify of their faith in Jesus; servants of God. He says the point of it all is to give a clear witness for Jesus.

A~ Do I give a clear witness for Jesus? I’m not sure if I do, but I want to.

P~  Heavenly and loving Father, please help my life, my actions, the words that I speak give a clear witness for Jesus, that you may be glorified, worshiped.  I love you.

Spiritual and Eternal | Michelle Myers

S~ They had not worshiped the beast or his idol, and they had not received the mark of the beast on their foreheads or on their hands. Revelation 20:4 (NCV)

O/A~ I may not always recognize it, but the “mark of the beast” is something I can have everyday, if I am not careful.  The condition of my heart, mind, marriage, family, finances, health, etc. can easily be the visible marks to show who I am worshiping.  If my finances are a mess, because I am over spending or spending on sinful things, that is the mark of the beast.  If my health is a mess, because I eat too much, smoke, and don’t exercise, that is the mark of the beast.

I have experienced times, where I had messes and it was not because I was worshiping the beast or his idol.  It is during these times, that God and His goodness are hard to understand or my belief may be tested.  This is especially true for me, when I am seeing other people carelessly live selfish, reckless lives, or are hurtful and prideful beyond understanding; yet don’t seem to struggle with the day to day challenges of this world.  They worship the beast, but also don’t have the signs of him in their lives.  What I have come to understand, is there are marks of the beast, they just aren’t apparent to me.  They may be hidden by these people. They may be  sugar coating their daily struggles or hiding or denying their internal struggles.  What I have also learned about this, is that these hidden marks will remain on them, and they will never be able to experience God’s awesome healing power or growth in their spirit….  and that is where it truly counts.

I also know that when unfair circumstances seem to hit me, and I struggle with understanding; my job is to keep the faith, stand on the promises of God, and open my heart to the Holy Spirit, and allow Him to show me what lesson I am supposed to get out of it.  Honestly, it often takes me a long time of going around the same mountain before I get this.  I’m getting better at it, but the process in me, because of me and my flesh, still takes longer than I would like it to.

P~ God, thank you for your wisdom and your patience.  Please continue to help me see the spiritual and eternal aspect of life.  Help me remember that there is so much more going on than what I can see, feel, or hear; and there is so much more to life in this world, besides positions, possessions, and people.

The future looks great! | Nikki Metzger

S~ Look, God’s home is now among His people! He will live with them, and they will be His people.  God Himself will be with them. Revelation 21:3 (NLT)

O~ This is the future and it’s going to be WAY different than it is now.  God will live with us, among us and He will be with us.

A~ God is with us now, so what is going to be different?  I think I’ll be able to just run up and literally give God a hug.  Can you imagine?  To be fully embraced by Him?  When I think of my future, standing next to God, being with Him, it makes what is going on in my life and in the world really small.

P~ You are ALL that matters.  I want the people in my life to know how amazing You are too!  I lift my next ones (people I’m praying hard to come into the Kingdom) up to You.  God please call my next ones Your people and be with them.  Thank You!  In Jesus’ Name I pray, Amen!

Anti-Aging | Kelley DeAses

S~ He who was seated on the throne said, “I am making everything new!”  Then he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.”  Revelation 21:5 (NIV)

O~ In this world, things get old and wear out.  Take our house, for example.  It seems we are forever having to clean, repair, replace and upgrade just to stave off aging and deterioration.  Same with our vehicles and just about all of our other personal possessions.  Worse than that, these bodies we inhabit are, slowly but surely, slowing down, sagging down, and wearing down.  Even the healthiest diet, most disciplined exercise regimen, and cleanest air can only forestall that downward trajectory.  But God’s ways are different from the world’s — higher, better, mysterious, beyond human experience and imagination.

A~ As I turn the calendar on another Christmas and another year, I have before me a profound choice.  I can despair of what is lost — my size 4 waistband, my wrinkle-free face, my firstborn living under my roof, my second-born being a tiny infant in my arms, so many loved ones who have died or moved away.  Or I can embrace what is mine now and look ahead to the future, being grateful for the people God has given me to love and nurture, and the wisdom He has bestowed on me through the years.  It really is a wonderful life!  And God promises the best is still yet to come!

P~ Father, renew my mind daily by the power of Your Word to rise above my tendency to see only that which is fading and fleeting, but to look with spiritual eyes upon the riches laid before me, now and into eternity.

The Curse Will End | Susan Aken

S~ No longer will there be any curse. The throne of God and of the Lamb will be in the city and his servants will serve him. Revelation 22:3 (NIV)

O~ No more curse – how we long for that day! No more evil, suffering, pain, sorrow, hatred, death – the day we long for – no more curse! That is our future.

A~ My life should be one that communicates hope. We know the curse won’t last forever. We will be set free. Set free from the curse.

P~ Thank You Jesus! Thank you for taking the curse on yourself. Thank you for paying our ransom. Thank you for facing God’s wrath. How I want my life to show that, to reflect hope.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on December 31, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Lord Jesus,
    I want to thank You for working through these ladies that faithfully recorded their thoughts throughout this year of 2014. I have grown so much and am so excited that I had the privilege of reading Your Word all the way through. Thank You. May You bless them and keep them until the Day of Your Coming. Amen.

Leave a Reply

