December 30 Revelation 15,16,17,18

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Turn To Me | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  And I heard the angel who had authority over all water saying, “You are just in sending this judgment, O Holy One, who is and who always was.  For your holy people and your prophets have been killed, and their blood was poured out on the earth.  So you have given their murderers blood to drink.  It is their just reward.” And I heard a voice from the altar saying, “Yes, Lord God Almighty, your punishments are true and just.”

They did not repent and give him glory.

And they cursed the God of heaven for their pains and sores, but they refuse to repent of all their evil deeds.  Revelation 16: 5-7, 9, 11 (NLT)

O~ God’s judgment and wrath was coming down on the people that had murdered God’s holy people and prophets.  I think it’s interesting how in verse 9 and 11 it points out that they refused to repent as if God was looking out for that, for them to turn to him.  2 Peter 3:9b: He does not want anyone to be destroyed but wants everyone to repent.

A & P~  You are so patient with us dear God.  Help me have your patience and love toward others and leave vengeance in your hands.

Jesus Has Won the Battle | Susan Aken

S~ They will make war against the Lamb, but the Lamb will overcome them because he is Lord of Lords and King of Kings – and with him will be his called, chosen and faithful followers. Revelation 17:14 (NIV)

O~ We know the end of the story! Jesus wins! Jesus has already won! He is Lord of all! Plus, all who believe in Him will be with Him. We will be with Him in His victory.

A~ This is the true reality. So much of what I get caught up in here is nothing. Getting caught up in things, looks, possessions – that is not real life. Those things are just distractions. Jesus is reality.  Eternity is reality. The spiritual battle is reality.

P~ Jesus, Lord Almighty, I worship you as King of Kings and Lord of Lords. You alone are worthy of praise. You are the only reality. Your kingdom is reality. What we see here is the shadow. Open my eyes to see the spiritual battle. Help me focus on what matters. I praise you my Lord.

Only God | Michelle Myers

S~ And they threw dust on their heads and cried out, weeping and being sad. They said: ‘Terrible!  How terrible for the great city!  All the people who had ships on the sea became rich because of her wealth!  But she has been destroyed in one hour!'” Revelation 18:19 (NCV)

O~ Merchants, sailors, etc., who made a good living from of the sea and Babylon’s prosperity, watched from a distance as it was destroyed.

A~ I know all too well how it can take years to build up something, and it can be lost in no time at all.  There are two things that God has shown me as a result of this.  First, He has shown me the importance of doing everything possible to protect my marriage and family from sin and evil…..both the sin and evil that lurks outside the walls of our home, and the sin that can corrupt my heart, attitude, and the words that come out of my mouth.  Second, we should not rely on any position, possession, or person.  All of these are subject to change, without warning.  I can be the leader of a company one day, and the next day, the company goes out of business.  I can have a house one day, and the next day, it is destroyed by a fire.  My husband can kiss me goodbye one morning, and get into a fatal car accident on his way to work.  All of this may seem depressing, and the reality of it is, that it does make life hard at times.  Yet, having lived through the experience of loss, of both possessions and people, I realize that God is the only stable thing I was able to count on, and will be able to count on going forward.

P~ I want to thank you God for the trials that have lead me to have a greater understanding of YOU, as well as, a greater understanding of the sin and evil that lurks around us everyday.  The trials  are not comfortable, and I don’t like them at the time.  But, I know that you have a purpose for them and me.  Please help me remember that you are in control.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on December 30, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for that reminder Michelle.

Leave a Reply

