December 28 Revelation 5,6,7,8,9

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

You Are Now And Will Be Then | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ For the Lamb who stands in front of the throne will be their Shepherd.  He will lead them to springs of life-giving water.  And God will wipe away their tears.  Revelation 7:17  (NLT)

O~ God gives us good gifts.  This is a passage from the book of Revelation, what will happen in the future.  This is who you are for us today also; our Shepherd and you lead us to springs of life-giving water.

A & P~ Thank you Heavenly Father for your faithfulness.  Thank you for being the same today and always.  I love you.

Wipe Every Tear | Kelley DeAses

S~ And God will wipe every tear from their eyes.  Revelation 7:17b (NIV)

O~  The picture given to John in this chapter is of a great multitude — people from every tribe and tongue — standing before the throne of Christ worshiping Him.  An elder explains to John these countless believers have come out of the great tribulation and have been washed clean by the blood of Jesus.  They now serve Him in His temple and He cares for them, even wiping away every tear.

A~  Even as we gather together to celebrate Christmas and turn the calendar to a new year with expectation, I still feel a sense of sorrow for the pain I see all around: a friend just lost his father, a few days before Christmas (which is also my friend’s birthday);  another friend lost her husband and now faces raising two small children on her own;  several dear friends and family members are in the midst of separation and divorce, with all the heartache and confusion that brings; a family we know recently had to say good-bye to their seven-month-old baby, after he was suddenly stricken with illness; another family sits vigil in a hospital room with their very ill son, two other little ones at home, and an uncertain future, … Lord Jesus, come!

P~ Jesus, Sometimes all we have is You and a tiny seed of hope that You will comfort us and wipe our tears away.  Help us to realize, in the end, You are all we need.

My Comforter | Michelle Myers

S~ And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes. Revelation 7:17 (NCV)

O~ God sees my struggles.  God cares about me.  God empathizes with me.  God has compassion for me.

A~ I grew up with a mother who was so involved in herself, and so disconnected from her own emotions, that she did not have the capability to see anybody else’s struggles, have compassion for anyone else’s pain, or empathize with anyone else’s feelings.  If you had struggles, either you were being silly for worrying about something as “stupid” as that, or you did something wrong to cause them.  Tears brought out the worst in her.  Instead of words of encouragement or empathy, they often resulted in cutting, harsh comments or full fledged rage.  It is so comforting to know, that someday, all the tears that I have shed, as a result of all the pain I have suffered in this life, will be understood and empathized with, by someone who is so much more important to me than my mother….God.

P~ Thank you God for your comfort.  Help me remember that my emotions are something that you have given to me as a signal for what is good and bad in my life, this world, etc.  It is so easy for the enemy to take this tool, and manipulate the signals, so what feels good and righteous in the moment,could actually be something harmful…such as over indulging by eating too much ice cream, letting my frustration spill out of my mouth with harsh words, etc.  And, what feels bad, in the moment, could actually be something good…such as exercise, calmly and rationally working through emotions, etc.  Help me have the patience and stability to let my spirit rule and not my flesh, so the right emotions will eventually produce the right feelings.  Because when I go with what is wrong in the moment, but feels good, I end up feeling guilty and wrong in the end.  When I go with what is right, but feels hard and bad in the moment, I end up feeling joyful and peaceful in the end.

Call to Repentance | Susan Aken

S~ The rest of mankind that were not killed by these plagues still did not repent of the work of their hands; they did not stop worshiping demons, and idols of gold, silver and bronze, stone and wood – idols that cannot see, or hear or walk. Nor did they repent of their murders, their magic arts, their sexual immorality or their thefts. Revelation 9:20-21 (NIV)

O~ John has just described terrible plagues that will come on the world in the last days. These plagues will be horrible and unbelievable and a large portion of people will die. Yet, these verses tell us that those who are left will still not repent! Their hearts will still be hard. They will refuse to give up idol worship and sin. God brings discipline in order to call people to repentance yet most will refuse.

A~ We can also be stubborn. How often does God convict me of sin yet I resist repentance? I should run to repent the second God makes me aware. Sin is death. Jesus is life! He has given me all I need for life and godliness. His goal is always for my best – to save, to rescue, and to heal. Why do I resist? Why don’t I instead resist sin, doubt and lies and run to the truth?

P~ Jesus, I want to run to you. I want to repent, to trust you. I want to walk as close to you as possible not as close to the world as I can and be ok (so I think). I want to live in you. Help me, Jesus. Help me repent of anything not pleasing to you. I have been so wrong with my words, my lips speaking things not honoring to you. I will praise you today!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on December 28, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

