December 20 John 7,8

Join our online Advent study at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Letting The Holy Spirit Guide Me | Michelle Myers

S~ The world cannot hate you, but it hates me, because I tell it the evil things it does.  John 6:7 (NCV)

O/A~ I know for myself, many times when God is dealing with me and an issue I have, but I don’t either see it or want to deal with it; I can get overly sensitive and easily offended when people talk about it, point it out, etc.  This is a signal to me, that there is some “fixing” I need to go to God about, in regards to this issue.  I need to let the Holy Spirit show me what to deal with, if I don’t already know.  I need to let the Holy Spirit  show me how to deal with it, and ask for help in doing so.  Then, I need to repent because of my prideful self, that was overly sensitive and easily offended by the mere topic of it.

The key here, for me, is letting the Holy Spirit show me.  So often, I have been pulled in so many different directions by the world…. the same hypocritical, evil world that hated Jesus for pointing out its evil….the same hypocritical, evil world that without any insight or desire for insight, will easily point a finger at me, all while masking the same behavior from and motives within themselves….all as a means of avoiding their own evil, sinful nature.

P~ Thank you God for the Holy Spirit.  Please continue to show me what YOUR will is, and where my prideful nature gets in the way of that will for my life.

Seek His Glory | Susan Aken

S~ Whoever speaks on their own does so to gain personal glory, but he who seeks the glory of the one who sent him is a man of truth; there is nothing false about him. John 7:18 (NIV)

O~ Jesus is speaking at the temple courts at the Jewish Festival of Tabernacles and is being challenged by those listening. He tells them He is not there to speak on His own but only what His Father has given Him to speak.

A~ I think all of us as human beings are tempted by pride. Anytime we step out to speak, write, teach, sing or serve in ways that puts us in the public eye (even if it is a small group), we will be tempted to start seeking personal glory. But if I do that, then I am on my own. That is all I get. I don’t want that! I want whatever I do to bring glory to God. I want what I say, write, teach, and live to be truth.

P~ Lord, please purify my heart and keep me far away from pride or doing anything to seek personal glory. I want my life to bring glory to you. I want to be a woman of truth. Please forgive me for the times I have sought personal glory or have wanted that. Fill me with your Spirit Lord and may all glory go to your name.

Judging others | Nikki Metzger

S~ Look beneath the surface so you can judge correctly.  ~ Jesus in John 7:24 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is speaking to a group of religious people.  Some followers, some not, and some of them were trying to kill Him.  Jesus was talking about working on the Sabbath; how all people do it, but instead of condemning them, we must look past what we see and get to the heart of the action.

A/P~ Father, thank You!  For putting me in a place to walk beside people in life whom I formally judged before I met them.  Thank You for opening my heart up to the individual person.  That every single person matters to You.

Lord, help me to model and teach this in my home.  God, weave this attitude of looking beneath the surface to see a person, in my children’s hearts ~ please!  Make it be a part of their DNA to not judge, but to just love like You!  Thank You!  In Jesus’ Name I pray! Amen!

“Free” Book | Kelley DeAses

S~  So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.  John 8:36 (NIV)

O~  I would venture to guess there are very few people who ever experience, much less live their everyday lives in, the freedom we are meant to know in Christ.  Everybody struggles with something.  I have some scribbled sermon notes next to this verse in my Bible listing things which characterize spiritual freedom, to include: (1) free from sin, (2) free from anger, bitterness and greed, (3) free to forgive, (4) free for intimacy, and (5) free to act in obedience.

A~  I need to add to that pastor’s list “free from worry, ” as that is my go-to form of bondage.  To the degree I am operating out of fear, doubt and anxiety is the degree to which I squelch my faith and trust that God is God and can handle what concerns me today.  But when I submit my cares into His capable hands, I get a taste of that ever-elusive spiritual freedom.  I can breathe again.  But the reality is, despite how well or poorly I am doing in this struggle against anxiety, He sees me there and desires to be my comfort even when I fail.  The other day, after I had written a journal entry during my devotion time entitled “Anxious Thoughts, ” I received a free book in the mail.  Do you know the name of that book?  “Anxious for Nothing” by John Macarthur.  You can’t tell me God is not in the details of our lives!

P~  Father, I am so glad and grateful to know that whatever I struggle with, You see me and are reaching for me with an outstretched hand.  Thank You for concerning Yourself with what concerns me.

The Flow Of The River | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ If you believe in me, come and drink!  For the Scriptures declare that rivers of living water will flow out from within. (When he said “living water”, he was speaking of the Spirit, who would be given to everyone believing in Him.  But the Spirit had not yet been given, because Jesus had not yet entered into his glory.)   John 7:38,39  (NLT)

O~ When Jesus ascended to heaven, after his death and resurrection, the Holy Spirit, the living water,  was sent.  This living water flows out from within.

A~ I strive so much trying to know what the right thing to do is, to know the best choice.  It is good to give thought to decisions and choices, but sometimes I can become obsessed with making decisions. I want things to be perfect. Yes, perfect…in an imperfect world.  Seems like I’m setting myself up to disappointment.  What I need to do is rest in you.  You have given me the Holy Spirit.  This verse calls the Holy Spirit living water that flows out from within.  What I need is to be still and ask you for guidance and listen to the flow of the river.

P~ Heavenly Father, thank you for giving me the Holy Spirit.  Help me remember to be still so I could listen.  I love you.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on December 20, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

