December 19 John 5,6

Join our online Advent study at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Miracles Or Man-Made Rules | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ So the Jewish leaders objected.  They said to the man who was cured, “You can’t work on the Sabbath!  It’s illegal to carry that sleeping mat!”   John 5:10  (NLT)

O~  Jesus just healed a man who had been sick for thirty eight years!  Jesus told him to pick up his mat and walk.  The Jewish leaders did not see the miracle that just took place; instead they focused on their man-made rules.

A~  This encourages my heart, my faith.  It really is a walk by faith and not by sight.  A call to trust in you and not in my understanding and what I see.  In this journey with my youngest son being back in the nest, I turn to you for guidance.  I don’t want to miss what you can do because I’m focused on my ideas of how things should be.  I don’t have to fear or focus on my weaknesses because that really weighs me down.  But I can walk in confident assurance because You go before me.

P~  Dear God, please continue to remind me to trust you and turn to you.  I don’t want to miss your God-made miracles because of my man-made standards.

What am I Working For? | Susan Aken

S~ “Do not work for food that spoils, but for food that endures to eternal life, which the Son of Man will give you. For on him God the Father has placed his seal of approval.” John 6:27 (NIV)

O~ Jesus is talking to the crown he had earlier fed with the miracle of the loaves and the fishes. They had come looking for Him and He knew it was because He had fed them. Then He tells them not to work for food that spoils but for food that endures to eternal life.

A~ I know Jesus wasn’t saying we should never work in order to be able to buy food and live. Of course, we must all provide for our families. But if all we are concerned about is taking care of our physical needs here then we have missed everything. The most important thing is seeking the food that endures to eternal life. I should be putting my greatest effort into seeking Him, knowing His word and doing His will. I guess the question is what is my greatest motivation in life? Is it just to make a temporary life here or is it to prepare for my eternal life in heaven?

P~ Father, help me to focus on what is most important. Help me to focus on eternity and doing your will while I am here on earth. Please help me put my best effort into seeking you and to make that my priority.

STUBBORN, UNFOCUSED, AND SELF-CENTERED | Michelle Myers

S~ I came down from heaven to do what God wants me to do, not what I wanted to do.  John 6:38 (NCV)

O~ Jesus clearly knew WHO and WHAT his life’s purpose was all about.

A~ There are days where I, like Jesus, get this.  I am to surrender my will and do what God wants me to do.  Then, there are other days, where I am stubborn, unfocused, and self-centered.  Those days are not fulfilling.  They are not peaceful.  They are riddled with an exhausting and confusing internal struggle.

P~ Thank you God for YOUR PERFECT PLAN, and thank you for never giving up on me, when I am being stubborn, unfocused, and self-centered.  You have repeatedly shown me, where your plans are way better than mine.  Please continue to help me see my stubbornness, unfocused mind, and self-centeredness.  Please continue to help me change my heart, so even after I see it, I have the strength and courage to release the over-powering emotions to you and do your will.  This will save me and my family from so much chaos and struggle.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on December 19, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

