December 18 John 2,3,4

Join our online Advent study at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

When Being Angry is a Good Thing! | Joni Tyner

S~ Then, going over to the people who sold doves, He told them, “Get these things out of here. Stop turning my Father’s house into a marketplace. 17. Then his disciples remembered this prophecy from the scriptures: ‘Passion for God’s house will consume me.’  John 2:16-17 (NLT)

O~ Jesus has entered the temple and is angry when He sees people using the platform of God’s House to make money.  His disciples are seeing Jesus be passionate for injustice and sin.

A~ I’m a passionate person. I feel things intensely. I cry when I read about children who are suffering at the injustices of this world.  My heart breaks for those who are far from God.  I love this verse, because, once again, Jesus is showing me it’s good to be passionate about things that matter to Him.  I SHOULD be angry when there are injustices in this world.  I should be motivated to do something to help.  Mirroring the actions of Jesus will always be in God’s will. Jesus didn’t sin, He couldn’t!  Still, He was angry with the money changers taking advantage of the less fortunate.  I believe we are called to be passionate for the things that God is passionate about. We should be passionate to defend the defenseless.  We can each do our part—our little contribution can create a ripple effect to inspire others to fight injustice.  It reminds me of the new term, “gone viral” when something on social media starts out small and then gets huge.  What a cool thought that our actions might “go viral” and inspire God’s people to do something for the Kingdom.

P~ Dear Jesus,  Keep my heart passionate for the things You love and are passionate about.  I pray for opportunities to make a difference in this world.

Faith Strengthening Doubt | Michelle Myers

S~ So in Cana of Galilee Jesus did his first miracle.  There he showed his glory, and his followers believed in him.  John 2:22(NCV)

O/A~ There are definitely times in my life where I can look back and know that it was God that brought me out of a situation, changed my heart, changed my husband’s heart, showed His glory to me, saved me from my own foolish actions, etc.  Yet, I am also surprised at how I still, sometimes struggle with doubt, even though I know, in my heart the truth.

When I have tried and tried to do something right, and the results don’t line up with the actions….doubt starts to creep in.  When I have experienced one storm after another, and I feel like I just need a break, and instead of a break, I get another storm….doubt starts to creep in.  When a situation is way beyond my understanding, and I foolishly try and figure it out, only to be left more confused and frustrated…..doubt starts to creep in.  When I am going to Him for guidance, direction, etc. and I feel that I am not getting any answers….doubt starts to creep in.  When I have felt that I have trusted Him, stepped out in faith, and I get more of a mess….doubt starts to creep in.  When I start to let my fleshly desires get the best of me, and start to focus on what the world says I need, should have, should do, etc…..doubt starts to creep in.

When all of these things occur and doubt starts to creep in, I usually spend a few days in misery trying to analyze God, the situation, etc.  During this time, He reminds me of His faithfulness and His glory, that He has repeatedly shown to me in my life.  Then, I am humbled and my perspective starts to change.  In the end, I don’t question if God exists, I question why He has chosen to bless me with a healed marriage, two beautiful girls, two cuddly cats, the luxury to be able to stay home, a healthier mind than many of my family members, a body that is not riddled with illness, a roof over my head, food in our fridge, etc.  All miracles and blessings that, until they are taken away, are taken for granted by me, our society, and by the world as a whole.

P~ Thank you God for your faithfulness and goodness.  Thank you for reminding me of all you have done, how I am so blessed, and what truly is important in this life.  Thank you for sticking with me, in my times of doubt, frustration, and confusion, and using them to strengthen my faith in you and the good plans you have for my life.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on December 18, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

