December 14 Hebrews 12,13; Jude

Join our online Advent study at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Small Things Add Up | Michelle Myers

S~ We should remove from our lives anything that would get in the way and the sin that so easily holds us back. Hebrews 12:1 (NCV)

O/A~ As I struggle with either finances or time management, God is showing me more and more what I need to remove from my life.  He is showing me how to live a more balanced life.  I can easily live in either extreme.  There were times when I have given up everything I had in regards to time and money.  There were times when I selfishly used up everything for myself.

Finding and sustaining a balance has not been easy. It usually takes time before I finally understand why I am struggling so much in a certain area.  It usually takes more time before God shows me what changes He wants me to make.  Then, it takes even longer as I struggle with letting go of the little fleshly desires that cause me to waste time or money.  What I have found is,  that the enemy is very skillful in deceiving me, as nothing I spend my time or money on, is in huge, glaring chunks.  I am not taking a months long vacation away from His word, nor am I going on a huge shopping spree, where I drop hundreds of dollars at once.  I am realizing that there are a lot of small, seemingly unimportant and uneventful, luxuries or tasks that start to add up.

Some of these little “luxuries” used to be time and energy saving tools, that I needed when I was working or when my husband was not a helpful participant in our marriage, family, or home.  That is no longer the case.  God is showing me, that as I am in a new season of my life and my marriage and family are more cohesive, I need to do make some adjustments.  Especially, in regards to the small, easily overlooked things, that get in the way of me doing what God wants me to do or living the way God wants me to live.

P~ Thank you God for the time and financial resources you have provided for me and my family.  Please continue to show me what you want me to let go of and what you want me to hold on to.  Then, help change my heart, so the things that I want, that don’t coincide with your will, I can hold onto or purge with the right attitude.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on December 14, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

