December 13 Hebrews 9,10,11

Join our online Advent study at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

My body | Nikki Metzger

S~ You have given Me a body to offer  Hebrews 10:5b (NLT)

O~ This sentence is Jesus speaking to God……He is saying that He has come to do God’s will.

A~ Jesus, everything was created by Him and through Him.  He submits His body to God.  What an example!

It doesn’t seem like much, but no one in this entire planet; past or present can my body to God except me.  I can give God my brain, focus on things that are good and pure and true.

I can give Him my eyes so He can adjust them so all I see are His abundant blessings.  I can give Him my mouth and honor Him with what comes out of it.

I can give Him my arms so they can wrap around people who need to feel His love.  I can give Him my hands so He can direct them to His work.  I can give Him my feet so they can lead me where He has called me.  I can give Him my stomach which can easily be tempted with unhealthy foods, but bring Him glory when I say no to that.

P~ Father, thank You for this body.  Really – it’s the only thing I can give back to You!  I love You!  Thank You for creating me!  I pray that I can bring You glory! In Jesus’ Name!

Use Your Spurs! | Susan Aken

S~ And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching. Hebrews 10:24-25 (NIV)

O~ This verse makes it clear that we need each other!  We are to consider (focus our attention on, concentrate on, understand, think about) how we can spur (stir up, motivate, stimulate, provoke, excite or even according to the original meaning – irritate) each other to love and do good deeds. (I picture someone using his or her spurs to poke a horse and keep it moving.) We are urged not to stop meeting together but to meet even more as the time of Christ’s return draws near. We are to keep encouraging each other.

A~ When I really meditate on this verse, I have to ask myself how often I really focus on how I can “spur” others to love each other and do good deeds. Do I ever urge someone to do good deeds? I think our society has so “idealized” being independent, being our own person, and having a “Don’t tell me what to do” attitude. Thinking, “I’ve got this”, “I want to do my own thing”. We want to be unique, we don’t want anyone to “copy” us, and we want to take care of ourselves. But this verse tells me I should be focusing on how I can help others succeed (in good works) and that I should be setting an example that encourages others to want to do good works also. I should be living in a way that I want others to copy. I am not here to make a name for myself. I am here to glorify God and to point others to want to glorify Him.

P~ Father, thank you so much for your unconditional love. Please help me live in a way that encourages others to love you and serve you. Help me to focus on how I can encourage others rather than focusing on making myself happy. I trust you to take care of me, please use me to encourage someone everyday.

The Faithful Heroes | Joni Tyner

S~ All of these people earned a good reputation because of their faith, yet none of them received all that God had promised.  Hebrews 11:39 (NLT)

O/A~     I am really writing about the entire chapter of Hebrews 11.  I strongly encourage readers to read this chapter in the Bible.  It shows how time and time and time again, God called unlikely people to have faith in Him and TRUST Him.

It starts with creation, v.3,  we need to have faith that God created the earth and everything in it.   This chapter continues with examples of Abraham, Noah, Moses and others.  Take time to read it.  I was so encouraged by seeing how these everyday people, filled with flaws, made a difference for God.  They have had a lasting impact for 1000’s of years.

The last part of verse 39,

“yet none of them received all that God had promised.” 

WOW.  I’m letting that sink in.  All these great examples of faith in the Bible DIDN’T receive rewards on this earth.  Yes, they were faithful—until the end, yet they never saw, with human eyes, all that God had planned for them.

P~ Dear Lord, thank you for the examples of faith in Hebrews 11. I confess I get weary when I don’t always see results of my faith walk.  I need faith to press forward, keep on believing, keep on having faith.  Please help me grow in faith and lose the occasional doubt that attempts to sabotage me.  I want to have the faith of that the heroes in Hebrews 11 had.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on December 13, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

