December 12 Hebrews 5,6,7,8

Join our online Advent study at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Which Diet are You On? | Joni Tyner

S~ You have been believers so long now that you ought to be teaching others. Instead, you need someone to teach you again the basic things about God’s Word.  You are like babies who need milk and cannot eat solid food. Hebrews 5:12 NLT

O~ The writer of Hebrews is concerned about believers who don’t grow in their faith.  They become Christians, and then stay where they are, they never become a disciple. (a disciple is someone who matures, and becomes fruitful in their faith, they spiritually reproduce—bring others to the Kingdom)

A~ I became Christian when I was in 6th grade at a camp my aunt took me to. It was a great experience—and then I came home and began living life and didn’t do much else—for about 10 years.  I met my husband and we started going to church.  We were faithful in our attendance and were occasionally involved in small groups and church service projects over the next 20 years. Still, I didn’t do much growing because no one ever came along side me and discipled me. I  was a believer that was on a milk diet, I wasn’t growing much in wisdom or understanding the importance of living out my faith.  Yes, I was a believer, I was doing good things, but I wasn’t growing and advancing—I was still in about 2-3st grade if you called this 30 year journey “school”.

I became very aware (and somewhat embarrassed) that I was growing in my faith in some areas and yet lacked in my knowledge of the Bible.  I decided to sign up for a discipleship study to help me get moving.  For the past 9 months I met weekly with this spiritual mentor and we studied what it means to be a disciple for Christ.  She has listened to many stories of my faith journey and given feedback and encouragement.   She shares my enthusiasm of reading the Bible and figuring out how to apply it to the everyday stuff we go through.  We have recently joined with 2 other ladies that she was also discipling and now we are growing together and discussing our goals for intentionally discipling others.  We are excited about God’s specific purpose for our lives, we want to be faithful in what He has done for us.  We want to move beyond our milk and to those big steaks at Texas Roadhouse.  (just kidding—but they do have some great steaks!!)

P~ Dear Lord, I’m so grateful that You have opened my eyes and given me an appetite to learn more about You.  I pray that Your Holy Spirit helps me understand difficult passages in the Bible with accuracy.  I pray for opportunities with others who need my encouragement and nudging for their own faith.  Thank you for Jennifer and her passion to be a discipler to others. It’s exciting to be part of the ripple effect of building Your Kingdom, one precious person at a time.

Train Yourself | Susan Aken

S~ But solid food is for the mature, who by constant use have trained themselves to distinguish good from evil. Hebrews 5:14(NIV)

O~ Paul is giving a lot of deep teaching in Hebrews. He makes the point that many are not mature enough for deeper teaching but must stay with basic truth. How do some get mature enough for solid food? By constant use, through constant use they train themselves to be discerning, to know good from evil and to understand truth.

A~ The charge is to train myself, to be discerning, to know what is right and wrong, to train myself by constant use, continual practice. The constant use is practicing daily the application of God’s word. Acting on revealed truth. This should be a daily practice.

P~ Father, please lead me daily to put into practice what you are showing me. Help me to train myself to be discerning. Help me be willing to pay the price.

The New Covenant | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  But this is the new covenant I will make with the people of Israel on that day says the Lord:  I will put my laws in their minds so they will understand them, and I will write them on their hearts so they will obey them.  I will be their God, and they will be my people. Hebrews 8:10 (NLT)

O~  This IS the new covenant.  You WILL do these things for us who trust in Jesus.

A~  There was a time that I would read this and plead for God to do this for me. To put his laws in my mind so that I will understand them.  To write them on my heart so I will obey them.  To be my God and have him call me His.  I didn’t realize then that You already did this for me when I trusted in Jesus.  I didn’t realize that the guilt I felt when I did wrong was your loving hand leading me to find forgiveness and healing from you.  You were there all along.

P~  Thank you, dear God, that even when I didn’t know you well, you knew me and knew what I needed.  And you were leading me even then.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on December 12, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

