December 11 Philemon; Hebrews 1,2,3,4

Join our online Advent study at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Who Built That? | Susan Aken

S~ For every house is built by someone, but God is the builder of everything. Hebrews 3:4 (NIV)

But in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son, whom he appointed heir of all things, and through whom also he made the universe. Hebrews 1:2 (NIV)

O~ God created everything that exists through the Lord Jesus Christ.

A~ To me, verse 4 gives the most logical answer for those who question creation. Everything we see was made by someone. When we encounter art, music, fashion, architecture, literature or whatever it might be, don’t we ask, “Who did that?” It only makes sense that there is a creator behind such art. How much more should we look at the universe and ask, “Who did that?” How can we look at a newborn baby and not ask, “Who created such a miracle?” That cannot be by accident anymore than a beautiful symphony or the most breathtaking of all paintings could happen by accident. There has to be a creator. There has to be a builder. Jesus is the master builder!

P~ Father, I praise your Holy name as our Lord and our Creator. Thank you for the incredible gifts of your creation. Thank you for creating us. Thank you for loving us enough to allow us to know you and walk with you. I love you Lord.

You See My Ugly | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  Let us cling to him and never stop trusting him.  This High Priest of ours understands our weaknesses for he faced all the temptations we do, yet he did not sin.  Hebrews 4:14b-15 (NLT)

O~  Jesus understands my weaknesses and is not ashamed of me.  I need to cling to him.

A~  Don’t compare your insides to someone else’s outsides.  This is something I remind myself of because sometimes my insides are overwhelmingly ugly.  Here I am reminded to cling to you and never stop trusting. Despite my insides you tell me to do this, to come to you. Who does that? You came for me and you understand my weaknesses.  I need to turn to you in confidence because you say to, and not trust my own feelings about what I feel I deserve.

P~ Heavenly Father, thank you for your mercy.  Thank you for Jesus who understands my weaknesses and tells me to cling to him, despite them. Thank you for coming for me.   Help me to trust and obey.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on December 11, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hebrews 2:1 “So we must listen very carefully to the truth we have heard, or we may drift away from it.” Thank you ladies for helping me listen carefully to His word-the truth- daily. His word is our anchor keeping us from being set adrift.

Leave a Reply

