December 10 2 Timothy 1,2,3,4

Join our online Advent study at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Set Free | Susan Aken

S~ For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind. 2 Timothy 1:7 (NKJV)

O/A~ This verse is special to me. God used this verse when I was in college (many years ago) to set me free and transform my life. Up until this point (my freshman year in college) I was afraid of many things, fear bound my life. I was extremely shy and introverted. When I went to college I lived in the dorm and I started going to a Baptist Student Union. They had a meeting every day at noon with music and testimonies. After attending for a while, it became apparent to me that people were taking turns giving testimonies. This terrified me. There was no way I was going to do that. You might as well have asked me to jump off a cliff. So, I quit going to the BSU. I would go to class and then go straight back to my room. But I was miserable. I knew things weren’t right but I felt like there was nothing I could do about it. After all, I thought, God made me the way I was. It was my personality. I couldn’t help it. Then one day I was praying and seeking guidance and God brought me to this verse. It was like a huge light going off in my soul. “God has not given me a spirit of fear.” The truth hit me like a blast; my fear did not come because of the way God made me. So, I asked God, and myself where does it come from then? I knew the answer right away. The fear was coming from the enemy! I was listening to Satan and letting him control my life. I stood on this truth. I asked God for help and resisted the enemy. I went back to the BSU and I volunteered to give my testimony. Then I told them this story. I learned that through the power of the Holy Spirit I could overcome the fear in my life and that transformed me. It was a defining moment. Does that mean I never struggled with fear again? No, of course not. But it never had the same power again. Because I no longer believed I was a helpless captive to fear.

P~ Thank you Father for the truth of your word! Thank you for revealing that truth to me all those years ago. Thank you that your truth sets us free. Praise your holy name!

As The Lord’s Servant… | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  The Lord’s servant must not quarrel but must be kind to everyone. They must be able to teach effectively and be patient with difficult people.  2 Timothy 2:24 (NLT)

O~ Patient and kind. With difficult people.

A~ There will always be people that are difficult. I’m told here to be patient and kind.  This is not dependent on whether or not the person is kind back, in fact it says with difficult people.

P~ Heavenly Father, help me be kind and patient with difficult people. Help me understand them, help me to love them.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on December 10, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

