December 7 Colossians 1,2,3,4

Join our online Advent study at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Roots | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  Let your roots grow down into him and draw up nourishment from him, so you will grow in faith, strong and vigorous in the truth you were taught.  Let your lives overflow with thanksgiving. For all he has done.  Colossians 2:7 (NLT)

O~  Roots- the part of a plant that attaches it to the ground or to a support, conveying water and nourishment to the rest of the plant.

Let your roots grow down into him~ I have a choice where I turn my roots to, and that will determine what I am fed. I’m to turn my roots to Christ and draw nourishment from him; turn to you with my deep inmost thoughts and my will and get fed by your truth, your promises, your thoughts toward me, toward others.

So I will grow in faith, strong and vigorous~ as I’m fed, my faith grows, I grow in faith and become strong.

P~  Heavenly Father, thank you for your wonderful truths and thank you for Jesus.  I know there are areas that my roots are not turned to Jesus.  Help me redirect my roots to Jesus and find nourishment for my soul, from the giver of life.  Thank you for loving me so.  I love you.

Our Wedding Verse | Joni Tyner

S~ Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, Clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity. Colossians 3:12-14 (NIV)

O~ Paul is writing this letter.  I love the beginning, “God chose us.”   This was His divine plan, He loves His chosen people—I am His.

A~ This scripture was read at our wedding.  I thought it was a great instruction for marriage and I have shared it at a couple of bridal showers over the years.  Here are few of my notes I shared with others.  (I’m also preaching to the choir—myself!!)

The Bible commands us to clothe ourselves—we don’t go anywhere without clothes, we have them on all the time!! ** People notice what we wear, and we should make every attempt to wear these virtues around our friends, family, co-workers, strangers. We should also “wear” these virtues with our spouse.

Compassion- having a nonjudgmental attitude towards one another.  With our spouse that means we assume the best in them. They aren’t out to “get us”.

Kindness-This is just like it sounds, be nice!!  Be kind. Kindness is never self-serving.  Just.  Be.  Kind.

Humility!!!-  This is being receptive to their corrections, as wives we don’t need to get all huffy when they mention the casserole had too much salt, (or whatever)  It’s also not looking for a pat on the back.  Our spouses don’t need statistics on how many loads of laundry we’ve done in the past decade or how many times they’ve forgotten to do something.  It’s giving up the right to be right, that our way is “better”.

Gentleness—this is so important in our tone of voice and the words we say.  This is super powerful in the marriage. Sarcasm is poison to a family. Make a decision to not do be that kind of person. Be known as an encourager, not someone who finds humor in tearing others down.

Patience. This is really a life-attitude word. Just plan on being inconvenienced if you decide to live on the earth. God will give us annoyances as opportunities to make the choice to love on others.

The NLT version says to “make allowances for each other’s faults, forgive anyone who offends you.   Translation: Nobody is perfect, even a spouse!!!  They can NOT read your mind– they will say the wrong things and hurt your feelings.  The happiest people in the happiest marriages will live this out—forgive and let go those little annoyances that bother and offend you.  Get over it and move on!

P~ Dear Lord,  Colossians 3 is my goal, I want to always live with tenderhearted mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.  I want to make allowances and be tolerant other peoples faults, (v 13). I want to be a forgiving person. I want to have peace through living and understanding Your Word.(v 15)  And thankful,  yes I want to have a thankful heart for all you’ve given me.   I fall waaaay short in these characteristics, especially with my spouse and my kids.  I pray for more patience,–Lord give me tenderness with my kids.  I feel like I used to be tender when they were little but somewhere along life’s bunny trails,  I have become cynical and often have a critical spirit.   Please forgive me!!! Help me to have patience and joy in the midst of this bumpy life journey. You have perfectly weaved us as a family—it’s not a mistake. I pray you’ll help us to love like You love us—unconditionally.

Live wisely | Nikki Metzger

S~ Live wisely among those who are not believers, and make the most of every opportunity. Colossians 4:5 (NLT)

O~ Living wisely in this world takes Jesus sized wisdom.

A~ My daughter and I were looking at my Facebook page and one of my old coworkers posted a cartoon making fun of people who love Jesus.  My daughter was indignant and started telling me how wrong this person was and they REALLY needed to learn about Jesus.  (We are also learning about grace and mercy at our house too:))

I didn’t respond to the cartoon post, but I wonder if I should have?  Then again, is social media really going to change someone’s soul from death to life?  I don’t know……

Paul’s next verse after this encourages believers to have their conversations gracious and attractive.  So maybe I fill my social media up with grace and something that’s different about this world???

P~ Hi God!  Thank You for that opportunity to see that cartoon last night and praying for my old coworker with my daughter.  Lord, I lift that woman and her beautiful family up to You!  Lord, please soften her heart to hear Your voice, open her up to Truth, and please FLOOD her life with people who love You, who are passionate about You, and whose words are filled with grace and attractiveness.    Lord, I also ask for Your wisdom on how to live among non-believers and make the most of every opportunity, even on Facebook.  Fill my mouth so my conversation will be gracious and attractive and the right (Your) response to everyone I meet.  Thank You Lord!  You are so good to me!  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

Missed Opportunities | Susan Aken

S~ Be wise in the way you act towards outsiders; make the most of every opportunity. Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone. Colossians 4:5-6 (NIV)

O~ Paul continues to teach believers how we should live if we want to follow and serve God. Here he teaches us to be wise in how we behave in the world realizing that all we do reflects on God and that we should make the most of the opportunities He gives us to influence others. Our conversation, our words should be full of grace, giving others the benefit of the doubt, blessing them (not cursing them), and giving encouragement. Seasoned with salt, making what we have to say palatable, speaking the truth in love, speaking with kindness not harshness and having the wisdom to know how to answer everyone. Why? Because this life is just a puff of air, we are all headed to eternity and we all need Jesus.

A~ How I want this to be true in my life! I have missed so many opportunities in my life! I have not made the most of them. I have so often used the excuse of personality (I am too introverted and shy), time (I am in a hurry), or just been to self-focused to notice. It is about thinking of others instead of self. Personality does not matter. Anyone can be gracious and kind in speech if we choose to do so. It only takes a moment to look someone in the eye, smile and speak a kind word. Don’t we all love to meet someone who is full of grace? The truth is I am the one who was the loser in all those missed opportunities. I denied myself the blessing.

P~ Father, I want to make the most of every opportunity you give me. Please fill me with your Holy Spirit. Help me to slow down and take the time to look people in the eye and show them grace. Help me to listen to you so that I know how to answer everyone. I can’t do this in my strength. Please open my eyes to see the opportunities and step out in faith.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on December 7, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nikki,

    This is such a great post!!! As Christians, we “bump into” nonbelievers all the time, we have a choice, we can act self-righteous and talk about how they don’t “get it” and about their terrible sins, or we can choose to see them as a person loved by God who doesn’t even know what they can have in Christ. What a beautiful prayer for your old co-worker. I am so encouraged and motiviated to see others in the way you saw her. God loves her even when she mocks Him, He forgives her, He died for her too. “Dear Lord, this morning I lift up people who are far from You and have ruffled the feathers of Christians. (and much worse) Lord, help me and other believers to see them like You see them, help us to reach out when they are prickly and not very nice. Lord, soften hearts today and motivate Your people to overcome the pull to be self-righteous and to love like You love.”

Leave a Reply

