December 6 Philippians 1,2,3,4

Join our online Advent study at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

In You | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  Don’t be intimidated by your enemies.  This will be a sign to them that they are going to be destroyed, but that you are going to be saved, even by God himself.  Philippians 1:28 (NLT)

O~ I don’t have to be afraid of those that come against me (motivated by Satan).  I can stand confidently knowing that God, you see me, and that this is temporary.

A~ I need your help in this area.

P~ Heavenly Father, grow my faith.  Help me to keep my eyes and mind on you that I may not be intimidated by evil.  That I may stand strong in you and you would be glorified.  In Jesus’ name. Amen.

God is working | Nikki Metzger

S~ For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases Him. Philippians 2:13 (NLT)

O~ God is already working in me.  Desire and power come from Him to do His plan.

A~ God, I just have to giggle; I love how You work!  Earlier this week, I was wrestling with purpose.  And then I land on this verse about You giving the desire and power to get Your purpose done.

I don’t need to have one more thought about my purpose.  Today, I just need to love the people You’ve put in my life.  I’m going to let You take care of the desire and power working in me to get done what You want done.

P~ God, thanks for Your Word!  This timely piece of Scripture that reminds me that You’ve got this!  You have me and my purpose firmly in Your heart and hand!  I SOOOOO love You!!

Mind Control | Susan Aken

S~ Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Philippians 4:8 (NIV)

O~ Paul writes many instructions here for the key to joyful living and this verse is one of the most important.

A~ I was just discussing this verse with someone last night and they were sharing how much a study of this truth was helping them then it was in the reading this morning. That is never a coincidence. This is a reminder I need continually. The mind is a big battlefield. Our words and actions begin in our thoughts.

P~ Thank you Jesus for this truth. Thank you that you enable us through your Holy Spirit to be able to apply this. Please help me, Lord, to focus my mind on what is true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable and excellent. Let your truth crowd our lies or anything that is not praiseworthy. Help me meditate on your Word, which is always true and pure.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on December 6, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

