November 29 1 Thessalonians 4,5; 2 Thessalonians 1,2,3

Join our online study through the book of Romans at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com Sunday is the first day in Advent! Join us as we prepare our hearts for Jesus’ birth!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Think Clearly | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But let us who live in the light think clearly, protected by the body armor of faith and love, and wearing as our helmet the confidence of our salvation.  1 Thessalonians 5:8  (NLT)

O~  This reminds me that it is important to put on God’s armor.  To live in it. To think clearly.

A~  It is easy for me to live in fear.   :/   But you are giving me a choice.  And you say in your word: perfect love casts out fear (1John 4:8)
Ok, so my 70lb American Bull Dog Mix is highly aggressive toward other dogs, and our walks are very are difficult, but he is a big baby toward people.  He was adopted from the pound at 3 years old and was going to be put down had he not been adopted. Since he has been with us he has calmed down some and has improved in listening and being still when the leash comes out.  These are the things you helped bring to my remembrance to help me think clearly when the behavior modifier person we hired told us he needs to be muzzled and if he was as aggressive toward humans as he is toward animals, I would suggest you put him down. This was after failed attempts with the shock collar (which was the behavior modifier’s final hope for help); he would just try to shake it off and it seemed to aggravate him even more.  Now its not that I didn’t want to hear these things, but when I did, I guess the way I processed it, it caused me a lot of fear to take him out and walk him after the behavior modifier person left, even though I have already been walking him with these issues already.  This verse says to think clearly.  It is talking about the end times. To be alert and sober. I think it relates to my situation too, because I need to think clearly about it.  Yes, he is aggressive and has issues, probably from his past owners using him as a fighting dog, and yes I will get him a muzzle. BUT also: yes, he has been making progress, and I am able to control him and keep him from getting out of my grasp.

P~  Heavenly Father, when fear creeps in my thoughts are not hopeful.  Faith gives me hope.  Or maybe hope gives me faith. This verse says let us who live in the light think clearly.  Thank you for this reminder.  Help me as I walk my dog and in other situations that I face today, to think clearly.  In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Just encouragement | Nikki Metzger

S~ And live peacefully with each other…..encourage those who are timid.  Take tender care of those who are weak.  Be patient with everyone…..always try to do good to each other and to all people…..Always be joyful.  Never stop praying.  Be thankful in all circumstances….Do not stifle the Holy Spirit….test everything that is said.  Hold on to what is good. 1 Thessalonians 5:12-22 (NLT)  (my highlights from those verses)

O~ Encouraging words and commands from Paul.

A~ Sometimes I’m faced with difficult circumstances or conversations.  A christian who believes having an affair will solve some problems.  Another believer belittling someone because of their political views.  Or friends with values that are vastly different then mine.

What to do?  What to do?

Run away from those hard conversations or life things?  I think that has always been my go-to reaction.  Just walk away and avoid it, or ignore the issue because it’s not mine.

But my God is greater!  Jesus, the Lord of peace will give me His peace ALL times in EVERY situation.  Yay!

So with that peace, I am able to be joyful, be thankful, be patient, always try to do good……(all that stuff from the verses)

P~ Thank You God!  You ALWAYS have answers!  You really have a way of taking away circumstances and going right to the heart!  Thank You for Jesus’ peace ALL the time and in EVERY situation.  I LOVE YOU!

Separated from God | Susan Aken

S~ He will punish those who do not know God and do not obey the gospel of our Lord Jesus. They will be punished with everlasting destruction and shut out from the presence of the Lord and from the glory of his might. 2 Thessalonians 1:8-9 (NIV)

O~ Anyone who has not placed their faith and belief in the Lord Jesus Christ will face an eternity separated from God.

A~ There are so many wonderful verses in these 5 chapters. These are not the ones I wanted to focus on but they are the ones God impressed on my heart. I confess that I forget this truth sometimes because it is a hard truth to face. It is deeply painful to think of people being separated from God forever. That is the worst thing about hell, to think that one would never feel or know the presence of God. Please, if you have not believed in Jesus, examine the Bible and ask God to reveal His truth to you.

P~ Father, please open the eyes of those who are blind to truth and help them accept Jesus. Forgive me for so often living like everyone has all the time in the world. We don’t. The day of your coming could be any time and none of us knows when our last day will be. Please Lord, help me be bold and open my eyes to opportunities to share the truth.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on November 29, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

