November 27 Psalms 125; Matthew 26,27

Join our online study through the book of Romans at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

The Prayer that Never Fails | Susan Aken

S~ Going a little farther, he fell with his face to the ground and prayed, ‘My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.’…He went away a second time and prayed, ‘My Father, if it is not possible for this cup to be taken away unless I drink it, may your will be done.’…So he left them and went away once more and prayed the third time, saying the same thing. Matthew 26:39,42,44 (NIV)

O~ Jesus is facing the greatest ordeal ever faced or that ever will be faced. He faced not only the extreme suffering of crucifixion but the greater suffering of carrying the sin of all mankind. He who was perfect, had to feel the weight of every sin ever committed and even worse He had to be separated from His heavenly Father. Jesus, the perfect Son of God, prayed three times seeking and yielding to the will of His Father.

A~ We learn so much from Jesus about prayer. Prayer was a priority in His life. One thing I see here is that Jesus, our perfect Savior, prayed this prayer three times. There have been times when I prayed the same prayer over again and wondered if it was showing a lack of faith but Jesus shows here that it is ok to repeat our prayers. In His case, it showed the depth of anguish in His soul. There is a popular book series I love and the main character always refers to the “prayer that never fails.” This is the prayer the author is referring to, “Yet, not as I will, but as you will.” I have often prayed this in tough situations where it is hard to discern what is best. I can pray and ask God for what I believe is best or for what I want but in the end I pray, “Your will not mine be done.” God is the only one who knows what is best in any situation.

P~ Father, thank you for your eternal wisdom, thank you that you always know what is best. You see the end from the beginning. Help me to trust in your will. Thank you that Jesus was willing to face such suffering for us. I love you so much Lord! I do pray for your will to be done in my life, not mine.

Being On Guard | Michelle Myers

S~ Then Jesus went back to his followers and found them asleep.  He said to Peter, ‘You men could not stay awake with me for one hour?  Stay awake and pray for strength against temptation.  The spirit wants to do what is right, but the body is weak.’ Matthew 26:40-41 (NCV)

O~ I find it funny that Jesus made this comment to Peter, the one who boasted about how he would NEVER stumble in his faith or deny knowing Jesus.  Yet, all Jesus wanted any of them to do, at this moment, before the really hard “stuff” hit, was stay awake and be on guard….not only physically, but even more so, spiritually.  Even though our hearts may want to do what is right, our flesh is a lot harder to control and align with our hearts.

A~ When my emotions are out of whack, I can easily let my, not so Godly words and actions, overpower my heart’s willingness to do what is right.  Hurt, anger, and frustration can easily get the best of me, if I am not careful.

There are certain things that I know I need to do to “stay awake and be on guard”.  I need to be eating and eating right.  It is so easy for me to get busy and skip a meal or grab some unsatisfying, unhealthy piece of junk.  Water intake and limiting coffee is also important in keeping me balanced.  I can tell my energy levels tanks when I am dehydrated.  I need to be active.  For me, this isn’t running a half marathon or participating in the next Iron Man competition.  For me, it is keeping in perspective the goal of being well balanced and healthier than I have been.  A brisk walk, while listening to my Christian music and some simple weights on a regular basis are adequate for me.  Sometimes, even just doing some things around the house will be enough, because I have a tendency to wallow, over think, and analyze situations when I am hurt, angry, or frustrated.  This just makes it worse.  A good nights sleep and short breaks to rejuvenate throughout the day, helps me not crash and burn by 3 in the afternoon.

All of these things make it easier for me to handle the emotions that come as a result of everyday life….and they do come, sometimes one right after another, all day long.  On those days, sometimes I just have to sit with God and cry it out, because I know if I try and force my plan for that day, it won’t be pretty.  I will end up doing or saying things to my family that I would regret later.  Then, I would have to humble myself, apologize, and take back the lifetime grounding I gave my girls for not doing the dishes.  Then, I would battle with the feelings that  my behavior is crazy, and I am making my family crazy.  And all of this, just makes me miserable and the enemy happy!

It is a vicious cycle.  It is a cycle that God doesn’t want any of us to go through.  That is why Jesus instructed his disciples to be on guard.  If I am not, and waste all my energy on the small battles of everyday life, it will be so much harder when the big battles of life come about….and they will.

P~ Thank you God for your wisdom.  Balance, boundaries, etc. are areas that I struggle with, and probably areas that I will always struggle with.  I am much better at doing what I need to, in order to be “on guard”.  I need your help and guidance,  every minute of every day with this.  The temporary discomfort of submitting to your will, is far less painful in the end, than the 1-3 day pain of succumbing to my flesh, and then dealing with the guild, shame, and back tracking I end up having to do.

Zip your Lip | Carrie Newell

S~ But Jesus remained silent.  Matthew 26:63 (NLT)

O~ Jesus has been arrested and accused of something he didn’t do.  The priests and high council are trying to make Jesus say something incriminating. Prodding him again and again.  But Jesus remained silent.

A~ What self-control!  To have someone in your face, prodding you for a reaction.  Jesus knows the truth.  So did God.  My guess is, so did the priests. But instead of justifying and explaining, Jesus remains silent.  What a great reaction.  I don’t know if I could do it.  Ok, I KNOW I wouldn’t have remained silent.  I would have tried to explain and justify until my words got twisted, and I got in trouble.  But how do you keep accusing someone if that person remains silent?  Oh the heartache and hurt that could be saved if I would just be silent sometimes.  Those times I know that my son is prodding me because he’s tired or stressed.  That he has no real issue with me.  That there’s nothing in the world that I could say that would change his attacks in the moment.  I think I need to set him straight, but all I do most of the time is add fuel to the fire.

P~ Lord, thank you for giving us self-control.  Help my lips to remain silent when it can only be used as fuel for anger.  Help me to follow Jesus’ example and choose my words carefully and remain silent, especially when I’m feeling attacked!  Amen.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on November 27, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Carrie, I so appreciated your writing today. I also struggle with letting things go. I am getting better at listening to the promptings of the Holy Spirit. Yet, I still have a long ways to go, when it comes to ending it with silence. Usually, when I don’t listen, my words become a web of chaos, where by the end, I am frustrated and confused, myself, by what I wanted to say, how I made more of a mess with my tongue, and have once again, sacrificed peace for no good purpose.

  2. I love your site! 🙂
    As I was reading today’s passage, I was intrigued by Judas’ s question to Jesus at the Last Supper when he said “Is it I.” I’m wondering why he’d ask that considering his plotting.

    The other things that struck me were two phrases: Not My will but Thine be done and that Jesus didn’t say anything while being mocked and beaten. This always reminds me of my sin and selfishness. I so want to live a gospel centered life, one where every thought, word, and action is done in obedience to Christ and points others to Him. But more often than not, I live a very me – centered life. And that is ugly.

    Thanks, ladies, for the reminder and encouragement to center my thoughts on Christ and His mission.

    • Thanks Jennifer! I was struck by Jesus’ silence also…a number of times. On this side of things I will say that I see a faith-filled woman who DOES live a gospel centered life! If you can figure out how to get *every* thought, word, and action captive to His obedience you just let me know 🙂 Inspired and encouraged by you, friend!

Leave a Reply

