November 20 Matthew 5,6,7

Join our online study through the book of Romans at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Blessed | Kim Chipman

S~ God blesses those who are poor and realize their need for him, for the Kingdom of Heaven is theirs. Matthew 5:3 (NLT)

O~ The Sermon on the Mount. Jesus outlines what is really important to Him – how we should live. Most of what He says is completely opposite of what society values.

A~ God blesses the needy – poor in spirit – humble…not the prideful, independent go-getter that knows it all and doesn’t need anyone. Being independent is valued in our culture. It is valued in my mind! I feel worth when I am productive and competent. And NOT dependent. But being dependent on YOU is the heart peace I should embrace. I can’t do it on my own without You and You don’t want me to! You even remind me to not neglect meeting with other believers (Hebrews 10:25)…You designed us for relationship…with You and with each other. when I feel like mothering is too much for me to bear alone – I’m right, not weak! When I feel like the demands and expectations that others want me to live up to and fulfill are too much – I’m right, not weak! I need You and I need only to be concerned with pleasing You and Your expectations – no one else’s.

P~ Lord, show me how to balance loving others they way that they need to be loved so I can love well and humbly follow You and live out Your priorities. Help me to keep  my heart focused on what matters to You, realizing and expecting that it may be different than what lots of other voices in my world view as priority. Help me to love well. Help me to humbly remember how much I need You. I love You!

Are you Starving? | Susan Aken

S~ Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled. Matthew 5:6 (NIV)

O~ Jesus is giving the Sermon on the Mount to his disciples. Here he gives a promise. Those who hunger and thirst (the idea is to be in pain, to be in desperate need of water and food) for righteousness (for right standing with God, to be approved by Him, where you need to be) will be filled (He provides righteousness when we want it more than anything)

A~ What a beautiful promise! God doesn’t make righteousness or right standing with Him something impossible to attain. He doesn’t require a list of impossible tasks or ask us to crawl on our knees for miles or punish ourselves in some way. He says when we want righteousness more than anything, when we desire Him above all else, He is right there and He gives us our desire. Jesus is my righteousness. I desperately need Him every day of my life and by His wonderful grace He is always there.

P~ Jesus, I do want your righteousness. My heart and soul cry out for you. I need you more than anything. Please fill me continually with your Holy Sprit and lead me the way I should go. Thank you Lord for loving me and saving me. I love you Lord.

Our Provider! | Michelle Myers

S~ Don’t be like them, because your Father knows the things you need before you ask him. Matthew 6:8 (NCV)

O~ Jesus is telling us that we don’t need to make our prayers wordy.  A lengthy prayer is pointless, because God already knows what we need, before we even begin praying.

A~ I woke up this morning with a little bit of anxiety.  My daughter broke her glasses, and although both my daughters were due for eye exams and new glasses, it wasn’t in my budget until next month.  We have vision insurance, which I am so very thankful for. Yet, I have never been able to leave the eye doctor without spending a couple hundred dollars, which would have really crunched our budget over the next couple of weeks.

I took them into the eye place, and they said that they couldn’t be fixed.  So, I made her an appt. for later that morning, with the expectation of having to rework some financial stuff.  She saw the doctor, picked our her new glasses, and the total out of pocket bill, was less than 8 dollars.  How?  I have no idea, except by the grace of God, and it was a small enough amount that I was able to get my other daughter in to see the doctor later that afternoon, and purchase her new glasses, which also came to less than 8 dollars out of pocket.

P~ Thank you God for always providing for us.  Thank you God for giving us more than we ever deserved.  When needs arrive, help me remember that YOU “got this” and ANY anxiety is pointless.

Eternal things | Nikki Metzger

S~ Store your treasures in heaven, where moths and rush cannot destroy, and thieves do not break in and steal.  Matthew 6:20(NLT)

O~ Jesus is talking about having a life focused on eternal things, not worldly possessions.  Our stuff in the world can break, get stolen, but eternal things; that is safe.

A/P~ I see eternal things as relationships.  If someone makes an eternal decision to follow after Christ, that is something that can’t be lost, stolen or destroyed!

But even planting seeds is eternal!  The way I raise up my children is eternal!

God, as Chad and I are just starting to talk about redoing our basement, I’d like this whole process be honoring to You!  I don’t really care about the TV, or couches, or carpet. I’d like those worldly possessions bring eternal impact.  A place where our family grows closer and memories made, but really a place where our kids’ friends want to hang out as they get older. God, can our basement be a holy place?  Where young people gather to not just hang out, but to feel and learn about the love of Christ?  God would you make our basement and home like that?

Lord, a place where people can come and be fed and fed.  Fed by food, but more importantly, fed by You?  How do we take our worldly things and transform it to eternal impact?

Lord, give my husband a vision of what a good set up would be and a heart to be completely satisfied and full when ‘treasures in heaven’ start to happen downstairs.

God, please bless this time/area/endeavor/finances for the new room with Your hand.  Thank You so much!

He’s already there! | Kimi Miller

S~ So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries.  Today’s trouble is enough for today. Matthew 6:34 (NLT)

O~ Jesus himself it telling us not to worry!

A~ I need to remember this one thing:  Jesus is already there!  I don’t need to worry about tomorrow, because He’s already in my tomorrow.  In fact, when (if) I listen to Him today, He’s most likely preparing me for what lies ahead.  Worrying won’t change anything, but trusting in Him changes everything!

P~ Jesus, Thank you for going ahead of me, and guiding my steps for today.  I trust you completely.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on November 20, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I enjoyed your post today too, Nikki. I think about that more and more, the point of our possessions, our “stuff” should be to be available to open doors to relationships with others so that we can break down barriers and build a bridge of trust…then we build on that to bring others into a relationship with the Lord.

    Good job and good idea about the good food! 🙂

  2. Nikki, I love your heart in remodeling for Jesus!

Leave a Reply

