November 19 Matthew 1,2,3,4

Join our online study through the book of Romans at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Prophesy Fulfilled | Kim Chipman

S~ All of this occurred to fulfill the Lord’s message through his prophet: Matthew 1:22 (NLT)

for this is what the prophet wrote: Matthew 2:5b (NLT)

…fulfilled what God had spoken through the prophet Jeremiah: Matthew 2:17 (NLT)

…This fulfilled what the prophets had said:… Matthew 2:23 (NLT)

The prophet Isaiah was speaking about John when he said,… Matthew 3:3 (NLT)

This fulfilled what God said through the prophet Isaiah: Matthew 4:14 (NLT)

O~ Isaiah and Jeremiah prophesied around 600-700 BC. Jesus’ life fulfilled specific OT prophesy.

A~ There are doubters about the accuracy and truth of the Bible. It was written by men, the stories are kind of weird, it’s boring, it’s irrelevant…I believe it is the inspired word of God. The very tact that it was written over the span of over 1500 years, 40 different authors, in 3 different languages on 3 different continents with zero historical errors or contradictions requires divine intervention. Yes, some of the stories are weird, but they are about real people and, quite honestly, people are weird! God’s Word is alive, active, soul nourishment…my manna for the day, every day.

P~ Thank You for Your daily bread. Thank You for meeting me and revealing Your plan, purpose, direction, identity, truth and encouragement personally to me as I seek You. Your promises are true. Your Word is truth. I love You!

Let’s get ready for advent | Nikki Metzger

S~ Jesus was born in Bethlehem in Judea, during the reign of King Herod.  Matthew 2:1 (NLT)

O~ Jesus has entered the scene!  He didn’t come as a mighty warrior, but as a baby born to a young girl.  What a moment in history!

A~ November 30th is the beginning of Advent this year.  Advent is a time period (four Sundays before Christmas to Christmas Eve). In church world, it’s a period to get ready for Jesus’ coming.  Well, we are the church!  Let’s get ready for Jesus; in our hearts, and in our homes!

This year, Discover One Thing will be preparing our hearts for Christmas with a journey through the Jesse Tree Scriptures. The Jesse Tree represents Jesus’ family tree. The name is taken from Isaiah 11:1, in which Jesus is referred to as a shoot coming up from the stump of Jesse, the father of David. It is a wonderful way for all ages to prepare our hearts for the coming of Christ.

We would be so honored if you would join us! Sign up to get an email each day at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

P~ Father, thank You for this pause!  Walk with each of us during this season!  Prepare our hearts with the birth of Your son and our Savior!  Oh, how we love Him and You!  In His Name, we pray!  Amen!

Speaking To My Own Kids, As God Spoke to Jesus | Michelle Myers

S~ This is my son, whom I love, and I am very pleased with him. Matthew 3:17 (NCV)

O/A~ I love this verse.  It seems so genuine.  It seems so deep.  It is also hard for me, much of the time,  to see God loving me in this way.  That probably has to do with the fact that these heartfelt words were rarely spoken to me by my earthly parents.

Making the shift in my head and heart has been a battle.  Understanding that God does not expect me to meet some unachievable standard of perfection for Him to love me and be pleased with me, is hard to grasp sometimes.  It has caused me to put a great deal of pressure on myself over the years.  It has caused me to take on more responsibility for situations and people, than He ever expected me to be accountable for.

And, when I mess up or don’t feel like I can measure up, I have to separate the truth from the lies in my head, the lies other’s have spoken to me, and the lies of my past.  I have to distinguish between God’s discipline from my parent’s punishment.  Unlike my earthly parents, His discipline isn’t dependent on what His mood is in that moment.  His discipline isn’t harsh words with the intent to hurt.  His discipline isn’t self-serving.  His discipline is meant for my benefit.  His discipline is constructive.  The words He speaks aren’t harsh, but they are truthful and lovingly guiding, with the purpose of getting me to line up more with Him.

I realize how much of God’s words to Jesus, I don’t speak to my own kids.  As a parent, I want the purpose of my discipline to be the same as His discipline for me.   Yet, my words and tone are not always gentle and loving.  And as God gave me the free will to chose, make mistakes, and learn from them, I need to do the same for my kids.  Right now, the stakes are small…a bad grade, a missed recess, etc. but eventually the stakes will be much higher…an addiction, a broken relationship, salvation, etc.

All the harsh words, no matter how good my intent is, won’t give me any more control over their free will.  In fact, it is more likely to drive them away.  And, I am once again making myself responsible for things, God never intended me to be responsible for.  Letting go of the false control I think I have over my kids, is difficult.  I realize that many of my best, life changing lessons came from the natural consequences (God’s discipline) of messing up.  Not trying to control my kids, so they don’t mess up, or rescue them from the consequences when they do mess up, is hard.  I am sure it is probably hard from God sometimes too.  I look at young people with empathy, because their brains aren’t fully developed yet.  And many times, they really don’t have the ability to grasp the consequences of their choices.  I am sure that He looks at me with empathy, because as a human being, I don’t always have the capacity to grasp the consequences of the choices, big or small, that I make from moment to moment.

P~ Thank you God for my girls, and even though I am not perfect, thank you for giving me more parenting skills and more of YOUR wisdom than my own parents had.  Remind me that the responsibility YOU have given to me,  is to love my children, guide my children, give them boundaries, and give them purposeful discipline when they step out of those boundaries.  And when they do, I am to still love them, and even be pleased with the parts of them that line up with YOU….just as you do and are with me.  Help me to remember to tell them each and every day, repeatedly, how much I love them and what about them, pleases me.

It is Written | Susan Aken

S~ Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted by the devil. Matthew 4:1 (NIV)

O~ Jesus is led by the Spirit into the wilderness and after 40 days of fasting, He faces temptation from Satan. Each time Satan tempts Jesus, He responds with truth from the Word of God. At one point, the devil even uses scripture himself (misapplied) but Jesus knows the Word well enough that He disputes Satan’s use of scripture with truth. God’s word will never contradict itself. Jesus sets an example for us to resist the attacks of the enemy by using the truth of God’s word.

A~ I recently realized that I have been under spiritual attack lately and that I need to be memorizing God’s Word and using it to stand firm. The scripture today just confirms again what God has been telling me. When He keeps repeating a message to me, I know I need to pay attention! He wants me to stand firm, resist the devil and use His Word to replace lies with truth. I have some scripture cards I printed from the template under the Soap Box tab above and my goal is to meditate more and make memorization/meditation a regular part of my life.

P~ Father, thank you for the gift of your Word and thank you for its power. Thank you that you have given us everything we need to live for you and do your will. Please help me to stand firm and not listen to the lies of the enemy. Help me to memorize and mediate on your truth and let it fill my mind and heart. Thank you for the example Jesus gave to us. I love you Lord!

Immediately | Kimi Miller

S~ They immediately followed him, leaving the boat and their father behind.  Matthew 4:22 (NLT)

O~ When Jesus called James and John to follow him, they left immediately.  They left their jobs and their own father behind.  I think this is how God wants us to respond.  We can no longer worry about providing for ourselves – through our own means (jobs, paychecks, etc.) or cling to love that comes from our family.  Those things while important here on earth are temporary.  They will not last in the end.  We must seek after Jesus first – completely – and then allow Him to show us what comes next.

A~ Before we place our trust in the things of this world, we must first place our trust in Jesus.  He will give us the next step.  We just have to be obedient, and respond immediately.

P~ Lord, You are my provider.  You will provide for my needs.  I need only put you first.  I must let you define me – not my performance or my family (my pedigree).  You are what matters most.  I love you.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on November 19, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

