November 18 Psalms 124; 2 Corinthians 11,12,13

Join our online study through the book of Romans at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

What if? | Joni Tyner

S~ What if the Lord had not been on our side?, Let all Israel repeat: What if the Lord had not been on our side when the people attacked us? Psalm 124:1-2 (NLT)

O~ This psalm was written by David. He is reflecting God’s faithfulness and thinking about “what if”- what if he didn’t have God in his life, What if—he was NOT a person of faith?

A~  This scripture immediately jumped off the page to me.  I have said this many times and  I didn’t realize I was quoting a psalm!!   I have also heard many people who have been through tough, TOUGH life struggles say this.  They simply can’t imagine dealing with life’s yuck—without the Lord.  I think back to some difficult moments in my life—I freaked out, I screamed, and occasionally said bad words.  Then, I come to my senses and my anger dissipates and I am broken.  I weep and ask for forgiveness of my response to a situation I didn’t like.  I realize, accept and acknowledge that He is God and I am not.  I will trust Him when I don’t understand  circumstances.  I will believe that He knows what is best and He is on my side.

He is on my side.  (sigh, my personal Savior is going to carry this situation and I can leave it to Him.)

P~ Dear Lord, I’m so grateful for the Your big, strong shoulders that carry my burdens.  I’m thankful for Your loving embrace that holds me when I’m sad, disappointed and confused. I’m thankful that I have a Hope.  Keep me focused on an eternal perspective.   Thank you for your provision  through difficult life seasons.  I love You.

Weakness | Kim Chipman

S~ Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. 2 Corinthians 12:9 (NLT)

O~ Paul had endured a TON of hardship, and also amazing communion with God in visions and revelations. Even though it would all be WORTH boasting about, and it was truth, he did not want to be given credit beyond what people see in his life or hear in his message. God gave him a thorn in his flesh – a messenger from Satan to torment him and prevent pride.

A~ Pride. Ugh. My greatest struggle I think. The biggest lie that I buy (over and over and over again) is that I am not enough. Embracing – deeply in my soul – the words of the Lord here – My grace is ALL YOU NEED, Kim! My power works best in weakness. Not enough? Not enough what? According to You, not enough is exactly perfect for You to do Your best work! Maybe I need to embrace my not enough-ness instead of fighting against it. That is how Your power can flow through me! If I just get out of Your way…Pride says I, I, I need to be enough – Humility says I need You and YOU are enough.

I have an image I printed awhile ago and put up next to my work computer. It says “Jesus loves me and I am enough”. Today I had coffee with my amazing soul sista and we were talking this out. (Having friends to talk out my faith journey and chew on Scriptural truth is *awesome* and has been crucial to my growth!) She helped me see the last piece of this, the inner layer You wanted me to understand. She reminded me of the all powerful I AM that YOU ARE. You are everything, all the things, more than enough. YOU are the I AM. I went home from coffee and added the Scripture reference Exodus 3:14 to the image by my computer. I AM is enough. YOU ARE enough. I don’t need to be, I just need Your power to work through me. I can embrace my weakness, my not enough-ness. Then I was talking to my wonderful, artistic friend and she made me a beautiful image that I can frame and put on my wall to remember this very crucial lesson for my soul…

I AM enough

P~ Lord, I love how you reveal yourself to me through Your Word. You show me who You are, You show me who I am…and who I’m not…and what I don’t need to strive to be. This was a big, huge revelation for my heart today. I have Your grace, it’s all I need. Your power works best when I am not enough. When I am weak then I am strong. Everything about You is so upside down. Thank You for helping me see it. I love You!

My Weakness, Your Power | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  If I must boast, I would rather boast about the things that show how weak I am.  2 Corinthians 11:30 (NLT)

I am going to boast only about my weakness.  2 Corinthians 12:5b (NLT)

Each time he said, “My gracious favor is all you need.  My power works best in your weakness.”  So now I am glad to boast about my weakness, so that the power of Christ may work through me.  Since I know it is all for Christ’s good, I am quite content with my weaknesses and with insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.  2 Corinthians 12:9, 10  (NLT)

Although he died on the cross in weakness, he now lives by the mighty power of God.  We too, are weak, but we live in him and have God’s power…  2 Corinthians 13:4 (NLT)

O~  Weakness- a quality or feature regarded as a disadvantage or fault.
Synonyms- fault, flaw, defect, deficiency, failing, shortcoming, imperfection.

A~  These verses give me a different perspective on my weakness.  I don’t have to be ashamed of them.  God isn’t and he is very aware of them.  God’s power works best in my weakness.  (I will be walking in lots of power, Yay!) It is for Christ’s good therefore I can be content.

P~  Heavenly Father, help me to see my weakness as you see them.  They are a path to your power and your grace is sufficient for me.  Thank you for loving me completely and just as I am.  I will turn to you in my weakness and be strong in you. I love you.

Humbling Myself, So I Can Be Made Strong In Your Power | Michelle Myers

S~ So I am very happy to brag about my weaknesses.  Then Christ’s power can live in me.  For this reason I am happy when I have weaknesses, insults, hard times, sufferings, and all kinds of troubles for Christ.  Because when I am weak, then I am truly strong.  2 Corinthians 12:9-10 (NCV)

O/A~ At this point, Paul was a lot farther in his Christian walk than I currently am.  Yet, I have made a lot of progress.  I used to try and hide my weaknesses.  I used to deny my issues.  I used to be offended by insults.  I am not to the point where I can say that I am “happy” that I have them or that they occur.  I do, now, see the big picture behind them.  I am able to humble myself to the point where I no longer deny or hide them, at least the ones that I am aware of.  I am sure there are plenty I am unaware of , and in His perfect timing He will make them known to me.   This has opened my heart enough for Christ’s power to live in me, and has, in turn, strengthened my spirit.

P~ God, thank you for your discernment.  Thank you for your strength.  Please continue to work in me, so I can continue to make progress.  Being “happy” about my weaknesses and sufferings seems so far off to me at this point.   Yet, when I look back to the beginning of my journey with you, I never thought I would understand how being weak would make me strong.

Snapshot of the Church | Susan Aken

S~ Finally, brothers and sisters, rejoice! Strive for full restoration, encourage one another, be of one mind, live in peace. And the God of love and peace will be with you. 2 Corinthians 13:11 (NIV)

O~ Paul is finishing his letter to the Corinthians and gives his final instructions. It summarizes much of what he said urging them to be joyful, to become mature, to encourage one another, to be of one mind and live in peace.

A~ What a beautiful picture this verse gives of what the body of Christ (worldwide believers) and the individual churches should look like. That we would be joyful and striving to be mature, that we encourage each other instead of attacking, that we would be known for being of one mind and heart (for our unity) and that we would live in peace with each other. That would bring Him such glory! And it starts with me. Am I joyful? Am I focused on becoming mature by seeking Him with my whole heart? Am I taking every opportunity to encourage others? Am I seeking and living out unity by refusing to be a part of dissension and discord in the church? Am I living in peace and acting as a peacemaker? It starts with me. I need to repent of attitudes that contribute to disunity, to let go of feelings of competition and superiority (these do not belong in the church) and to encourage someone everyday.

P~ Father, by your power and in your strength help me live what this verse and this book teaches. Help me to be an encourager. Help me to promote unity and peace in your church. Please let your light shine through me.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on November 18, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

