November 15 Job 41,42; 2 Corinthians 1,2

Join our online study through the book of Romans at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

God Owns it All | Susan Aken

S~ Who has first given to me, that I should repay him? Whatever is under the whole heaven is mine. Job 41:11 (ESV)

O~ God finally answers Job and his friends. He lets them know He is sovereign and answers to no one.

A~ Everything that exists was created by God and exists because of Him. It is all a gift. It is all grace. God does not owe anything to anyone. We owe everything to Him. Therefore He does not have to answer to anyone. I know there are times I think, “God should…” or “God has to…” but He is God. He answers to no one. My part is to worship Him, trust Him and give thanks that He allows me to take a breath. Everything I have is a gift I did not earn or deserve. Job did not have a “right” to all his possessions and family and neither do I. They are gifts on loan. I want to live with more of an attitude of thankfulness realizing that each day, each moment is a gift and trusting my Father to know how many there should be on this earth.

P~ Father, thank you for giving me the gift of life. Thank you also for eternal life. I know I did not earn and could never earn it. Thank you for loving me so much. Thank you that you are Sovereign and you own everything. I trust you Lord. Even when the world seems so crazy and out of control as it does right now, I trust you. I know you have it all in your hands.

Didn’t Earn It, Don’t Deserve It! | Michelle Myers

S~ No one has ever given me anything that I must pay back, because everything under the sky belongs to me. Job 41:11 (NCV)

O~ God owes us nothing.  Everything is His to begin with.  We are just borrowing it, utilizing it, etc.

A~ I have to admit, that I often forget this, for every aspect of my life….from my husband and children to my money and possessions….even my time.  In my prideful state, I can often mistakenly feel as if I, somehow, earned or deserved all that has been given to me by God.

P~Thank you God for your grace.  Please help me remember where my blessing come.  Help humble my spirit and squash my pride, when I wrongly feel more deserving than I am.

Wisdom | Nikki Metzger

S~ A wise person is hungry for knowledge, while the fool feeds on trash.  Proverbs 15:14 (NLT)

O~ What goes in, comes out.  Junk in, junk out.  Applies to every part of our lives: food choices, how we spend our time, what we fill our thoughts with, what we read/watch, and how we spend our time.

A~ I’ve been the fool feeding on trash and I’ve been the wise person hungry for knowledge.  Being the wise person is so much better in my personal experience 🙂

As I start to look back on my life through the lens of feeding on trash vs. being hungry for knowledge; two things come to mind after some hard knocks of life.

What I read (in a book) matters to me.  Reading trash leads to an ugly posture in my heart; to God and my family!  I become selfish and act crazy, like stay up ’till 2am to finish the book and be soooo tired the next day.  God has been pretty specific in this area in my life, and when I follow His knowledge about what I should read, life just goes better.

And literal feeding on trash (junk food/unhealthy things) affects me too.  There is this popcorn place that sells the most divine types of popcorn.  When I go in, I buy this chocolate covered caramel, cookie crumble popcorn and completely blow my healthy eating plan.  EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. I walk into this store.

So, after doing this 3, maybe 4, but probably 5 times……I’ve learned I just can’t go in there right now.  Because when I walk into that store, I’m like a fool feeding on trash.

P~ Father, You are so wise and so good to me!  Thank You!  I LOVE YOU!

Comfort To Share | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ All praise to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.  He is the source of every mercy and the God who comforts us.  He comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort others.  When others are troubled, we will be able to give them the same comfort God has given us.  2 Corinthians 1:3,4 (NLT)

O~  God is the source of mercy and he comforts me in all my troubles.  In turn I can comfort others in the same way.

A~  I can be the hands and feet of Jesus by comforting others in the same way God has comforted me.

P~  Heavenly Father, thank you for your mercy and comfort that is so readily available to me.  Help me be readily available as you lead me to provide comfort to others.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on November 15, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

