November 14 Psalms 149; 1 Corinthians 15,16

Join our online study through the book of Romans at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Never Useless | Kim Chipman

S~ So, my dear brothers and sisters, be strong and immovable. Always work enthusiastically for the Lord, for you know that nothing you do for the Lord is ever useless. 1 Corinthians 15:58 (NLT)

O/A~ Last weekend the pastor at our church preached about margin. Intentionally choosing what we want in our lives AND intentionally leaving margin so we aren’t frantic all the time. I need to hear this message just about every day. I tend to be a very high capacity, get a lot done sort of person. Sometimes this is good. Sometimes this is NOT. What is really important to me is relationships, and no one wants to feel rushed through a conversation or feel like you are always too busy for them. I want to love others well by being emotionally available. But there’s still all this stuff that needs to get done!

Needs to?

I need to reassess some of that. Yes, there are things that need to be done. Grocery shopping, cooking, laundry, cleaning, taxi-ing 4 kids, working…on and on the list goes.

But.

Am I working enthusiastically FOR YOU? Or for me? Nothing I do for You is wasted – but that doesn’t mean You assigned me all the responsibilities that I’ve assigned myself.

P~ Lord, help me to prioritize and intentionally spend my time WELL and FOR YOU. Help me to quiet my heart and get my next assignment. I love You.

Marching Orders | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  So, my dear brothers and sisters, be strong and steady, always enthusiastic about the Lord’s work, for you know that nothing you do for the Lord is ever useless.  1 Corinthians 15:58  (NLT)

Be on guard, Stand true to what you believe.  Be courageous.  Be strong.  And everything you do must be done with love.  1 Corinthians 16:13, 14 (NLT)

O~ These were encouraging truths to me; that nothing I do for the Lord is ever useless.  Followed by my marching orders for today- stand true, be on guard, do everything in love.

A~ I can go through my day with confidence that what I do for you counts and you see.  And that frees me to focus on doing things in love.

P~ Thank you Heavenly Father, for Jesus, for your Holy Spirit.  As I go through today help me remember these encouraging truths and my marching orders. ❤

Do Everything in Love | Susan Aken

S~ Let all that you do be done in love. 1 Corinthians 16:14 (NASB)

O~ Paul is giving final instructions to the believers before he closes his letter.

A~ Such a simple command, whatever you do, do it in love. Whatever you do: chores, housework, running errands, dealing with problems at work, tedious assignments, dealing with difficult people, facing difficulties, going to church, serving others, the list is endless because it is life. In all of it, act in love. Simple but not easy.

P~ Father, I confess that I can’t do this in my strength. I am not capable of doing all things in love because left to myself, selfishness and pride contaminates everything. Thank you for sending Jesus to die for my sin and set me free. Thank you for the Holy Spirit who lives in me and enables me to love. Please, Holy Spirit, fill me and love through me. Help me to do all things in love.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on November 14, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

