November 13 Job 39,40; 1 Corinthians 13,14

Join our online study through the book of Romans at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

The Ostrich | Kelley DeAses

S~ … for God did not endow her [the ostrich] with wisdom or give her a share of good sense.  Job 39:17 (NIV)

O~ The Lord is speaking to Job here, detailing some of the countless demonstrations of His omnipotence, His omnipresence, and even His discretion;  it was God who chose which creatures would be clever and which would be lacking in sense.  The Lord opines that He elected not to give the ostrich a keen mind, though she does have strong legs to run away from predators.  By contrast, He did bestow upon mankind, the crowning glory of His creation, wisdom and good sense.  After all, we are created in His image.  But too often I look around and see good sense is in short supply. I really need to look no farther than my bathroom mirror to see it.

A~ Here is what I know to be true: God has equipped me for every circumstance I will face, every decision I will have to make, and every good work He has called me to, with His Word and through His Spirit.  But yet … I worry, I wring my hands, I think and think until my head hurts from the effort, I call friends to get their advice and opinions, I escape into a TV show, I let my emotions rule the day.  Do these reflect the good sense God has given me to rise to the occasion to be my best self? Clearly not.  He gives me everything I need, yet I do not exercise the wisdom He gave me to use it!

P~ Lord, Thank You for endowing me with wisdom and good sense.  Help me when I am flailing and failing to avail myself of Your riches, thus selling myself short.  I am so grateful for Your grace and Your unending patience with me.

Love is not Self-Seeking | Susan Aken

S~ It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 1 Corinthians 13:5 (NIV)

O~ In this chapter, known as the ‘love’ chapter, Paul describes love and tells us it is more important than anything else.

A~ Once again (as a couple of days ago) the message of not being ‘self-seeking’ stands out. Love does not put self first. Love seeks the good of others above self. This is still a challenge to me.

P~ Lord, please continue to work in my heart and help me to love the way you do. I am so often selfish and seeking what I want or think I need. Holy Spirit, please love through me, I can’t love that way in my own power.

Put your name in this verse | Nikki Metzger

S~ Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance. 1 Corinthians 13:7 (NLT)

O~ I once heard a pastor say, “Put your name in the Word and read it again.”   So this verse would say:  Nikki never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.

A~ I don’t believe that about myself right now.  I’m wanting to give up, I feel like I’ve lost faith on this particular thing, and I’m definitely NOT hopeful about this situation.  I’m enduring the situation, but not well.

I’m struggling, really struggling!  I’m trying to live out the calling that God has placed on my life, but I keep getting knocked down.  And it hurts.

You say to me:  Nikki, you can love because I first loved you.  I AM LOVE.  I’m not giving up on this situation, this difficult person.  I’m not losing faith, I’m hopeful and I’m with you through every circumstance!  Lean into Me!

P~ Father, thank You for Your Spirit!  There is a battle happening right now and I feel fresh out of anything good, kind, or hopeful about this situation.  I’m so tired! Can You help me to never give up? ( I want to!)  Can You help me to not lose faith?  (I’m close!)  Can You give me hope?  Help me to walk through this situation with love, Your love!  Soften my heart, break me apart!  Please God!

Love Like This | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.  1 Corinthians 13:7 (NLT)

O~ Cross reference verses:

1 Peter 4:8 – Most important of all, continue to show deep love for each other, for love covers a multitude of sins.

Proverbs 10:12 – Hatred stirs up quarrels, but love covers all offenses.

A~ I need help to love this way.

P~ Dear God, you love me this way; your love never gives up on me,  you’re always faithful, your love is  always hopeful and your love endures through every circumstance. Thank you! Please help me love like this.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on November 13, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

