November 12 Job 37,38; 1 Corinthians 12

Join our online study through the book of Romans at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Reframing the Question | Kelley DeAses

S~ Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation? Tell me, if you understand. Job 38:4  (NIV)

O ~ For the first time since the very beginning of the book and the beginning of Job’s whole agonizing ordeal, God speaks. The most striking thing to me is that He does not enter the fray of theological back-and-forth going on between Job and his friends, but reframes the entire argument. God could have chosen to address each point raised by each man and specifically affirm or refute. Rather, He overtakes the discussion and establishes a new paradigm, that being that He, God, created all, knows all, and is over all. Who are these mere men to question God?

A~ When pain or conflict strikes, I am prone to ask the wrong questions: Why me? Again? Haven’t I endured enough? But maybe I need to take the higher view and see God’s perspective (to the degree my limited mind can grasp it) in the matter: How can He use this? How is He refining me? For He can see the entire scope of my life and all eternity, while I can only glimpse this moment.

P~ Father, I am so grateful that You have all the answers, even when I don’t know the right question.

My Gifts from You | Kim Chipman

S~ A spiritual gift is given to each of us so we can help each other. 1 Corinthians 12:7 (NLT)

O~ Paul is teaching about spiritual gifts. We all have one, and the Spirit decides what we are given. They may be different for each of us, but the body of Christ, in order to function as a healthy body, needs them all.

A~ We each *have* a gift. I may or may not want to acknowledge this, but it isn’t pride to recognize God’s power in me! My gift has a purpose – to help others. To contribute my unique part to the body. I may *want* a different gift, but my assignment here from God requires the gift that was chosen by the Spirit just for me. My job is to use it to help others.

P~ Lord, thank you for my gifts. Help me to be still and listen intently for Your voice, then obey where You are leading me to use my gifts for Your glory. Even if Your assignment seems insignificant or mundane it all has purpose. Grow my trust, I do believe, but help me overcome my unbelief! I love you~

Promote Unity | Susan Aken

S~ So there should be no division in the body, but that its parts should have equal concern for each other. If one part suffers, every part suffers with it; if one part is honored, every part rejoices with it. Now you are the body of Christ, and each of you is a part of it. 1 Corinthians 12:25-27 (NIV)

O~ Paul is teaching about the unity of the body of Christ and how we should operate by comparing us to the physical body. Just as all the parts of our physical body work together as one so should all the parts of His spiritual body. Just as the whole body suffers when one part is suffering (like a broken toe) or the whole body is blessed when one part is blessed (for example a full stomach) so it should be with His body, the church.

A~ God so desires for His children to have unity and to operate together the way our bodies do yet there is so much division. Division between denominations, division between churches, competition between churches, division and discord within individual churches and division between individual believers. This must make God sad. This is not what He wants. He wants all believers to operate as one. He wants us to be aware that when brothers and sisters on the other side of the world or on the other side of town suffer, we all suffer. He wants us to see that when a particular church or church leader (or well-known leader) is rejoicing over a blessing, we should all rejoice. It is not about competition! Why is this so hard? We struggle so much with discord, jealousy, gossip, comparison, arguments, and self-promotion. I recognize this but I also struggle with this in my own heart. We are all sinners though redeemed and I know we will struggle against sin until we are home in heaven but could we do better? Could I do better? I can repent from knowingly being a part of division and discord. I can repent of gossip and jealousy. I can seek to be filled with His Holy Spirit and in obedience rejoice when others rejoice and suffer when they suffer by keeping them in my prayers and by determining in His strength not to speak words against any other believer. I can’t do this in my strength and I can’t do it perfectly. I will fail. But praise God, He forgives and offers grace. By His grace and in His power, I can do better.

P~ Father, I confess that I have at times been a part of promoting division by my words and attitudes. Please cleanse me of this sin and fill me with your Holy Spirit. Help me in my words and actions to promote unity in your body with all my brothers and sisters around the world. Help me to see we are all one. You don’t show favoritism and you don’t see one church or person as being better that the other. We are all your children. Help us to show the world your love, as you want us to. Please exalt your name through the church.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on November 12, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

