November 9 Job 34; 1 Corinthians 4,5,6

Join our online study through the book of John at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Abuse | Nikki Metzger

S~ I meant that you are not to associate with anyone who claims to be a believer yet indulges in sexual sin, or is greedy, or worships idols, or is abusive, or is a drunkard, or cheats people.  Don’t even eat with such people.  1 Corinthians 5:11 (NLT)

O~ Paul is telling believers to stay away from people who say they believe; but they commit sexual sin, are greedy, worship idols, are abusive, are a drunk, or cheat others.

Ummmm, would anyone even be able to hang out with each other?  We have all landed on that list at some point!

I don’t want to skip over that list or make light of any of those sins, but one of them jumps out at me: abuse.

A~ I recently had the privilege of listening one woman’s story of intimate partner violence, or domestic violence.  As we sat in her living room, my heart broke right open for her.

Our conversation spurred me to learn more about intimate partner violence; 1 in 4 women are in or have been in these violent relationships.  As I look at my blogger friends on this site, that would be three of us!  Which three of us are in those abusive situations?

Intimate partner violence doesn’t care about how much money a family makes, or their social status, or how great their kids are, or job titles; it could be in any home.  And women don’t share their abuse stories over a quick coffee, this is something that stays hidden.

God, what do You say about abuse?  I read that if an abuser claims to be a believer, we are not to associate with them.  We shouldn’t even eat with them!  You go on in the chapter about removing that person from you.  Thank You for that direction!  Sometimes I think as Christians, we feel like divorce is so bad and keeping the family together at all costs is the answer, even to the detriment of the person being abused.

P~ God, You never back down on hard topics like abuse……thank You!  Lord, I lift up this young woman in an abusive relationship to You, I lift up anyone in an abusive relationship or was in an abusive relationship to You!

God, may Your wisdom, love, and truth reign over these families!  Let Your truth shine light on these situations and give these women strength to share their story in a healing environment!

God, I beg for wisdom, discernment, Your Words, a non-judgmental heart when being with others who are victims of abuse.  Fill me Lord with Your love so it can overflow to them!

Protect my children from future abuse.  Teach them to stay far away from potentially harmful and unhealthy relationships before they even start them.  Thank You!!!  I pray all this in Jesus’ Name!  Amen!

Through Me, You Will | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  Don’t you know that someday we Christians are going to judge the world? And since you are going to judge the world, can’t you decide these little things among yourselves?  1 Corinthians 6:2  (NLT)

O~ Paul was talking to the Corinthians about taking care of matters among themselves instead of taking each other to court and suing each other.  They have the Holy Spirit among them.

A~ I tend to disengage with matters with my grown children. Fear of failing them, giving them the wrong advice and so I step back.  This verse encourages me to face the matters with confidence. Confidence in you because, I have the Holy Spirit and I have the mind of Christ (1 Cor 2:16). I can ask you for wisdom and you will give it to me.

P~ Heavenly Father, I feel so unfit to me a mother of my children.  They have experienced things in life that I haven’t and I feel so inadequate to give them advice, to offer any words.  Please speak through me to them, give me the words they need to hear.  Thank you for my children and for making me their momma.  I love you.

Marvel | Kelley DeAses

S~ Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God?  You are not your own; you were bought with a price.  Therefore honor God with your body.  1 Corinthians 6:19-20 (NIV)

O~ When I spent that year in England back in my college days, I used to love walking through the old cathedrals, with their intricate architectural designs and ornate stained-glass windows.  We would marvel that these buildings had been around longer than the United States of America has even been a country.  (The sad reality that these beautifully crafted buildings stood empty on Sunday mornings, rarely hosting church services or religious ceremonies of any kind, is a topic for another day….)

A~ God made me a temple to house His Spirit.  So not only do I know He loves me so much He would send His Son as a sacrifice for my sins, He even esteems the frail and faulty vessel I inhabit.  Enough that He would take up residence there.  And while I am ever tempted to beat myself up for my lack of discipline in what I eat or how little I exercise, for not maintaining this temple in top form, I sense Him telling me to respect my body which He created and called “good.”  Can I marvel at the way He made my hands and fingers to be so adept at manipulating things, or will I get caught up in thinking my nails are cracking and in need of a manicure?  Will I marvel that He would allow my body to help create, grow, and nourish two little lives, or complain about my still flabby belly from birthing babies?  Will I marvel at the keen mind He has given me which has equipped me for so many challenges, or declare how I am “losing my mind”  when I can’t seem to keep track of my car keys and cell phone?

P~ Father, Thank You that I am “fearfully and wonderfully made” and that You would send Your Spirit to inhabit this imperfect but marvelous temple.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on November 9, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

