November 8 Job 33; 1 Corinthians 1,2,3

Join our online study through the book of John at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Partakers In Christ | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Now you have every spiritual gift you need as you eagerly wait for the return of our Lord Jesus Christ.  He will keep you strong right up to the end, and he will keep you free from all blame on the great day when our Lord Jesus Christ returns.  God will surely do this for you, for he always does just what he says, and he is the one who invited you into this wonderful friendship with his Son, Jesus Christ our Lord.  1 Corinthians 1:7-9  (NLT)

O & A~  It is God who does it!  Ok so God created this world…set the sunrise and sunset times…made beautiful mountains, trees, oceans…set the seasons in place…created each of us…created all the animals, fish and birds…everything! And why do I worry so much about so many things instead of going to you and trusting??!!   These verses tell me 1- I have every spiritual gift I need. 2- you will keep me strong to the end.  3- you will keep me free from all blame on your return.  This also reminds me that you will surely do this because you always do just what you say!! ☺

P~ Dear God, these words, your promises speak life, rest and peace to my soul.  Thank you for your promises to me, to us who believe in Christ Jesus.  Thank you for Jesus!  Help me get out there and share Jesus so others can be partakers in all that you have for your children.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

United in Mind and Thought | Susan Aken

S~ I appeal to you, brothers and sisters, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree with one another in what you say and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be perfectly united in mind and thought. 1 Corinthians 1:10 (NIV)

O~ Paul is writing to the church in Corinth where evidently people had been arguing and quarreling.

A~ God wants His people to be united in mind and thought. That is why Satan works to bring disunity and discord among God’s people. (Although our flesh is pretty good at that even without the devil’s help) It is so easy to give into the temptation to grumble, gossip and speak words that cause trouble. Why does the sinful flesh relish gossip so much? Why is it so easy to pass it on? We have to stand guard for the unity of the church. We have to hold our tongues and take our concerns to God. When I hear something, it is so tempting to respond out of emotion without even knowing the facts and it is so tempting to talk to people about it and even to want to stir people up. But this does not please God. My first reaction should be to go to Him and then to not speak anything that is unnecessary or that will cause division. Unity is more important than convincing people to take my side.

P~ Father, please help us as your people to guard unity and to be united in mind and thought. If we are each seeking you first, then we will be united. Help us to seek you above everything else. Lord, help me to put a guard on my mouth and not to speak anything that would cause division. Help me instead to speak encouragement. Please bring your church, all your people, to unity.

Boast in You | Kelley DeAses

S~ Therefore, as it is written:  “Let him who boasts, boast in the Lord.”  1 Corinthians 1:31 (NIV)

O~  Paul is speaking to the church at Corinth about Christ being the wisdom and the power of God available to those who are not smart and who are weak in body and spirit.  Then they may boast not in their own attributes or accomplishments, but in what God is doing in and through them.

A~ Whenever the Bible talks about boasting, I always smile as I recall a story from over 20 years ago when I was a senior in college.  I was spending a year abroad completing my bachelor’s degree in English at the University of Exeter in England.  But I was simultaneously mailing out applications to attend law school the following year back in the States.  One day, I was overjoyed to receive not only an acceptance but, so the letter went on to state, a full-ride merit award scholarship to attend an esteemed school of law. And since it was in my hometown, I would be able to move back in with my parents and get my advanced degree for very minimal cost.  What a gift!  The first call I made was to a man who I’d come to know through a local church who, along with his wife, were acting as my unofficial “host parents” in this foreign country.  When I told him of my great news, he exclaimed, “Praise the Lord.”  It stopped me short with the realization that I had not connected those dots at all and acknowledged it was God who was ultimately responsible for this most excellent blessing and opportunity.

P~ Father, Thank You for so many people in my life over the years who have, in big ways and small, pointed me back to You.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on November 8, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

