November 6 Job 30; Psalms 120; Galatians 3,4

Join our online study through the book of John at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Peace!?!?! | Nikki Metzger

S~ I am tired of living among people who hate peace.  I search for peace; but when I speak of peace, they want war!  ~Psalm 120:6,7 (NLT)

O~ Oh, I could be speaking about my home every week day morning trying to get kids to school on time and me to work.

A/P~ Lord, You and I, in the morning, is great!!  You seriously fill my heart up with peace and joy!  Then my littles wake up and it seems like they are ready for verbal war.  😦   Against me, against each other.  And it disrupts my peace! Please help me!  Help me to model peace in the middle of chaos for them.  Thank You Lord!

Peace Is Always Possible With God | Michelle Myers

S~ I have lived too long with people who hate peace.  When I talk peace, they want war.  Psalms 120:6-7 (NCV)

O/A~ Some people thrive on conflict and drama.  I am not one of them.  I want peace.  I love peace.

God has shown me, that I am responsible for my own peace.  So, if I am around someone who thrives on conflict, drama, and chaos, and they want me to follow along with them on that journey of insanity, I don’t have to go.  I used to feel obligated.  Then, in an effort to avoid the consequences of conflict, drama, and chaos, I would try and guide them toward healthier solutions, that would have a much more peaceful outcome.  Most of the time, they didn’t want to hear it, and were intent on doing it their own way.

I also know that “keeping my peace” should not be dependent on what other’s are or are not doing around me.  Balance and margin with time and money have really helped with this.  It is much better for me to take the time, and go to God when I am feeling the pressure; than lose my peace and succumb to the emotions of the moment.  It much better that I go to God about purchases or giving, than to do what I want, and feel the pressure of being financial depleted when something unforeseen arises.

One of the biggest peace stealers for me has come in the form of lies, manipulation, and blame.  I am a responsible person.  At times, others have held me more accountable than I should have been for things.  Many times, this was a method used to manipulate me.  They ignored their own responsibility and accountability.  I was deceived into believing that it was my job to “keep their peace”.  I became a peacekeeper, but the more I did and the more I tried, it was never enough.  Because peace comes internally, from our faith and relationship with Jesus. There was nothing externally I could have done.

P~ Thank you God for your peace.  I am learning more and more where my responsibilities are, in regards to keeping my own peace, and how I am not responsible for others keeping theirs.  Please continue to show and help me be a peace maker, not necessarily a peace keeper.  An In the moments, when keeping my own peace and creating a peaceful environment seems impossible, and I want to succumb to the sins of the flesh, with my words or tone, remind me that it is not impossible through you.

No Need to Strive | Susan Aken

S~ How foolish can you be? After starting your Christian lives in the Spirit, why are you now trying to become perfect by your own human effort? Galatians 3:3 (NLT)

O~ Paul is teaching the believers in Galatia the truth about salvation by grace. The people there accepted the free gift of salvation by placing faith in Christ but now some false teachers have come in telling them they must observe Jewish law to be right with God. He wants them to understand it is all grace from beginning to end.

A~ How easily I fall into the trap of trying to become a mature Christian by my own human effort! I know Jesus saved me by His grace alone. I was helpless, lost and condemned but by His grace He saved me and gave me His Holy Spirit. So, why do I need reminders that living for Him and obeying Him also come from faith? I cannot by my own human effort keep His commandments and live a righteous life. Being right with Him comes as I walk by faith depending on the Holy Spirit. I will grow as a Christian only as I depend on His strength and allow Him to live through me. Every moment I live is a gift of grace from Him. Every breath I take is grace. I don’t deserve any of it but His love allows me to continue.

P~ Thank you Jesus that when you said, ‘It is finished”, you meant all of salvation from beginning to end. I want my life to honor you and I want to live in obedience to you but I know I am yours no matter what and no one can take me away. Praise your Holy Name!

Born Of The Holy Spirit | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  And we who are born of the Holy Spirit are persecuted by those who want us to keep the law, just as Isaac, the child of the promise, was persecuted by Ishmael, the son of the slave-wife.  Gal 4:29 (NLT)

O~  This verse reminds me it is a spiritual battle.

A~  I’ve had times when I was looked at funny because of my faith and sometimes questioned and challenged. This is going to happen.  And this reminds me how important it is to spend time with you daily, in your word, in your presence so I can know your thoughts toward me, your promises and what you say is true and right.

P~  Heavenly Father, thank you for your wonderful gift of salvation, freedom, and restoration to you.  I love you.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on November 6, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

