November 5 Job 28,29; Galatians 1,2

Join our online study through the book of John at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

You Know How | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  But do people know where to find wisdom?  Where can they find understanding? God surely knows where it can be found, for he looks throughout the whole earth, under all the heavens.  Job 28:20, 23  (NLT)

O~  In God is where wisdom is found.

A & P~ My son is on my heart and mind so heavily.  Dear God, he is isolating himself from his siblings and us, saying he does not want them to feel pity for him.   He is struggling.  I just want him to feel better, to smile again.  Father, he needs you, your truth, your love.  Thank you for the hope I have in you for my son.  I don’t know how to help him, how to reach him.  But you can.  Thank you for the hope that is found in you. Thank you that you are able to reach him in his heart.  That you are there with him and though he is pushing others away, you know how to reach him and he is never alone.  Please help him.  Please love him, I know that you do Lord, please deliver him and replace the lies with your truth and let his heart embrace and soak in your truths as a dry thirsty land soaks in water.  Thank you that you see him, thank you that you love him. Thank you.

Doing Only What God Can Do! | Michelle Myers

S~ I did not get it from humans, nor did anyone teach it to me, but Jesus Christ showed it to me. Galatians 1:12 (NCV)

O~ After this verse, Paul goes on to discuss what his life was like in the Jewish religion, before he accepted Jesus.  He talks about how he attacked and tried to destroy the church of God.  He talks about all of his accomplishments then, how he tried harder than anyone else to follow the laws and teachings..  Yet, in Galatians 1:12, he acknowledges that it was Jesus Christ who had to change him.  This change was nothing that any human being could do for him.

A~ I don’t have the power or authority to change myself.  I have tried.  I don’t have the power or authority to change anyone else.  I have tried.  And nobody else has the power or authority to change me.  They have tried.  All of this worldly changing, by human means, left me confused and frustrated.

It is one of the many reasons that I must rely on God, every moment of every day.  When someone tells me what I should or should not be doing, they may or may not be right.  God may or may not be working through them to give me some help, discernment, etc. I still have to go to God to know what His will is.   When I have the urge to tell someone else what they should or should not do, I may or may not be right.  God might be working through me to give them some help, discernment, etc.  I have to go to Him to know.   He may tell me that it is none of my business, and that I need to keep my mouth shut.  And, if I do give advice to someone, they have to go to God, to know what His will is, because my word for their life does not override God’s.

And quite frankly, I don’t want to give that responsibility to anyone and I don’t want to take on that responsibility for anyone.  I don’t have all of the answers.  God does!

P~ Thank you God for your discernment and wisdom.  So many times, I have tried to reason for myself what I should or should not do.  So many times, I have listened to other people in regards to what I should or should not do.  And this has left me frustrated and confused, as I go around the same mountain time and time again.  I now know, that regardless of what I want or what people tell me, if I don’t have YOUR peace about it, it is not YOUR will.  And I am getting better at understanding the difference between peace with a situation and comfort in a situation.  Sometimes, YOU want me out of my comfort zone, so I can grow and change.  Yet, when I am agreement with YOUR will, I can still have YOUR internal peace.  Please continue to speak to me, show me, and give me YOUR will for my life.

Grace Reminder | Susan Aken

S~ I do not treat the grace of God as meaningless. For if keeping the law could make us right with God, then there was no need for Christ to die. Galatians 2:21 (NLT)

O~ Paul once again has to teach the people not to be trapped by the lie that we must keep the law to be saved. He makes the point that if keeping the law could make us right with God, then would be no need for Christ to die. It is all grace.

A~ I need the constant reminder about grace. It is not possible for me to be good enough to earn a right standing with God. It is all grace. If I could in any way earn righteousness, than why would Christ suffer and die? He died because He was our only hope to be made right with the Father.

P~ Thank you Jesus for being willing to die for me because without you there would have been no hope. We are powerless to live without sin. Thank you for showing us the way to salvation. Thank you for being The Way.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on November 5, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

