November 2 Job 23,24; Mark 11,12

Join our online study through the book of John at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

House of Prayer | Susan Aken

S~ And as he taught them, he said, ‘Is it not written: ‘My house will be called a house of prayer for all nations’? But you have made a den of robbers.’ Mark 11:17 (NIV)

O~ Jesus is quoting Isaiah 56:7, ‘…for my house will be called a house of prayer for all nations.’ Prayer is an essential part of His church and of each individual believer considering each believer is a temple of the Holy Spirit. Christians and churches should be known for prayer. And not just prayer for ourselves but prayer for the nations.

A~ This verse is a reminder that God’s people are to be known for prayer. Prayer for all nations should characterize my life. With all that is happening in our world today this is an important reminder for all Christians everywhere to be praying for all nations. Lately, I have been including prayer for all our suffering brothers and sisters around the world in my prayers but I want to expand that to be more specific. Our world needs prayer!

P~ Father, thank you for the gift of prayer and thank you that it makes a difference. Thank you that you always hear and answer our prayers. Help me to be diligent in praying for all nations.

Do You Know Who You Are Talking To? | Kelley DeAses

S~ Well said, teacher,” the man replied.  “You are right in saying that God is one and there is no other but him.”  Mark 12:32 (NIV)

O~  As Christians, we have the benefit of having the complete Scripture at our disposal.  More than likely, though, had I been a contemporary of Jesus I would have been highly skeptical of his claims to be God come to earth as a man.  But knowing what we know — who Christ is — I bristle when I read how people interacted with Him.  Of course, the vile attacks, assaults, criminal charges, and unjustified execution are too horrendous to even imagine.  But even the smug words in this verse where one teacher poses a question to a “fellow teacher” and then praises him for a well-articulated answer, almost as if he were a child who correctly recited his alphabet, are offensive as well when you fully grasp to whom the man is speaking.

A~  Inasmuch as the Bible can be like a mirror we gaze into and see ourselves, my next thought is: Is this me? Do I do this? Do I treat God with casual smugness in my words to Him or about Him?  In the things I do or don’t do?

I think, for me, the failure to show due respect comes out not as self-righteous superiority but as disregarding Him altogether at times.  Whenever I fail to spend time with Jesus first thing in the morning, I have essentially said to Him, to myself, and to others if I share, that my sleep, my work deadline, or whatever else I have going on in my day takes precedence over the wisdom and direction I could glean from the Lover of My Soul.  Whenever I try to handle my own issues, finances, or relationships without consultation from the Wonderful Counselor, I devalue His thoughts on those matters.  And whenever I fail to speak in defense of my faith (or, worse still, don’t even put myself in those positions at all!), I have disobeyed His command to “go and tell” and once again disrespected My Savior.

P~  Father, I am sorry for failing to give You the honor and awe You deserve in every circumstance.  Thank You for Your Word, which shows me how I fall short, but also reminds me how much You love me anyway.

Not A Saint | Michelle Myers

S~ Jesus continued teaching and said, ‘Beware of the teachers of the law. They like to walk around wearing fancy clothes, and they love for people to greet them with respect in the marketplaces. They love to have the most important seats in the synagogues and at feasts. But they cheat widows and steal their houses and then try to make themselves look good by saying long prayers. They will receive a greater punishment. Mark 12:38 (NCV)

O/A~ The pharisees were the law makers of the time. Being a terrible speller, I typed the word “pharisee” into my spell checker and, of course, it corrected my spelling. It also gave “hypocrite” for the definition. The antonym that came up was “saint”.

I pondered this for awhile, because I don’t consider myself a hypocrite or a teacher of the rules. I used to be a huge one…hypocrite and teacher of the rules. Even though I am not nearly as bad as I used to be, I know that I am no where near being a saint.

What I thought about, is something I have heard Joyce Meyer say, “I may not be where I need to be, but thank God I am not where I used to be.”

P~ Thank you God for helping me in the progress I have made so far. I can easily pick out hypocritical behavior in other people. But, you don’t want me to do this. You want me to be aware of the fact that we are ALL hypocrites to a certain extent and will always be, because NONE of us are saints. And, YOU want to make me aware of and accountable for my OWN hypocritical behavior.

My Gift To You | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ He called his disciples to him and said, “I assure you, this poor widow has given more than all the others have given.  Mark 12:43 (NLT)

O~ This poor widow gave two pennies. Jesus says her gift was more than all the others.

A & P~  Dear God you see my heart, our hearts. You know what is there.  you are not looking at things the way I look at things.  Thank you for that.  Please continue to remove these self-made standards of mine that make me feel like I don’t measure up.  Help me stay connected to you and keep me humble.   I give you my heart as my gift to you.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on November 2, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

