October 30 Job 21; Mark 5,6

Join our online study through the book of John at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

You Know All, You Know Best | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  Evil people are spared in times of calamity and are allowed to escape.  No one rebukes them openly.  No one repays them for what they have done.  Job 21:30-31 (NLT)

O & A~ I have felt like this.  I see people do evil things and continue to prosper and I wonder why?  I do remember that you, God see all and you know.  I don’t see or know it all. I only see parts of the person’s life.  I don’t know their struggles or anything.  I think of my own children; when one is being disciplined or we are discussing with him/her their troubled situation, the other siblings aren’t completely aware of what is going on with this one’s life unless we all talk about it together and this is not the case since my children are each living on their own.  So then it goes back to me realizing that I just don’t know everything like I sometimes think I do! And also then takes me to the question—can I trust God to take care of things? To bring justice in his time? Yes, yes I can.  That includes mercy and grace, sorrow and trials as he sees fit.  He sees hearts. I DO NOT SEE everything that is in people’s hearts.  I am not God and yes, I trust you God.

P~ Heavenly Father, thank you for your amazing love and beautiful plan of salvation.  Thank you for your wisdom and reminding me that I don’t know everything. I would not be able to carry the burden of knowing everything.  But you promise to give me wisdom when I need it.  Thank you for your gentle care.  Thank you for sending Jesus. Please bring people back home to you where we all belong.  In Jesus’ name. Amen.

How is Your Faith? | Susan Aken

S~ He was amazed at their lack of faith. Mark 6:6a (NIV)

O~ This is a sad statement. Jesus was in his hometown ready to do miracles and help people but he could not do many miracles there because of their lack of faith. All they saw was the local boy who grew up there. He offended them and Jesus was amazed at their lack of faith.

A~ I wonder if Jesus has ever been amazed at my lack of faith. In Mark 5:34 when the woman who had been sick for many years was healed, Jesus said, “Daughter, your faith has healed you.” Our faith does make a difference. Where we place our faith makes a difference. I want to keep my faith placed on Jesus. I want to be strong in faith.

P~ Lord, please increase my faith. Help me to keep my eyes on you and be strong in faith. I do believe in you. My heart belongs to you.

Jesus Knew We Would Encounter Impossible People | Michelle Myers

S~ If people in a certain place refuse to welcome you or listen to you, leave that place. Shake its dust off your feet as a warning to them. So the followers went out and preached that people should change their hearts and lives.” Mark 6:11-12 (NCV)

O~ Jesus tells us how to deal with stubborn people.

A~ Certain scriptures have had a profound impact on the way I deal with, not the difficult people in my life, but the impossible people. These are people, who no matter what I say to them, no matter what I give to them, or no matter what I do, it is never enough or good enough. These are people who will go out of their way to be critical, mean, and nasty. These are people who really don’t care who God created me to be. They want me to be someone who serves only them and their needs. And many times, that need is just someone who will listen to, endure, and enable their temper tantrums.

Jesus knew some of us would have these people in our lives, whether they would be acquaintances or relatives. And He doesn’t expect us to waste time trying to reason with them, argue with them, or try and change them. Only God can change them, and if change doesn’t occur, more than likely, it is because they are too stubborn and their hearts are not open to it.

So, as sad as it makes me sometimes, and as hard as it is sometimes; I know that all I can do with these people is shake the dust off of my feet, pray that they will open their hearts and minds, so God can work in them, and leave the door open, with the small chance that change does occur.

P~ Father, thank you for this scripture, as I spent many years trying to get people to see, understand, etc. It was not only frustrating, it was also very hurtful, as many times these people are verbally abusive. Thank you for showing me that they have free will, and it is not my responsibility. Help me keep a good heart when I think and pray about these people. Hurt can harden my heart. Help me remain hopeful. At one point, I lost all hope in my marriage, and after shaking the dust off of my feet, I left. My husband’s heart opened, and it has changed our lives. So, I am aware of your power and what YOU can do. I ask for the same healing with my mother and our relationship.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on October 30, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

