October 26 Job 17; Acts 24,25,26

Join our online study through the book of John at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

I Want To Hear From You | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ You must defend my innocence, O God, since no one else will stand up for me.  Job 17:3  (NLT)

O~ Job’s friends were giving him advice that did not apply to him.  Job knew it and continued to turn to God.

A~ This is something I struggle with and am still working on.  I used to take what others said and then doubt what I thought God showed me. I realize now that my faith was growing and those trying times were to help it grow.

P~ Heavenly Father, you desire an intimate relationship with each of us and desire to speak directly to our lives.  Thank you for loving me so wonderfully.  Help me remember to turn to you and trust you.  To listen to you when the opinions of others are different and especially when the fears of my heart agree with those opposing opinions. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Get Up and Go! | Kim Chipman

S~ Now get to your feet! For I have appeared to you to appoint you as my servant and witness. Tell people that you have seen me, and tell them what I will show you in the future. Acts 26:16 (NLT)

O~ Paul, for the 3rd or 4th time in Acts, is recounting the story of his encounter with Jesus. He used to be a persecutor of Jesus followers – imprisoned and killed them – until he met Jesus. On the road to Damascus he was blinded and heard God speaking to him.

A~ Once he encountered You for himself his instructions were clear – get up! Don’t just sit there, I have a job for you! The message for me is the same. I can’t just encounter You firsthand, here in my living room in my private, quiet time alone, and then have that be the end of it. I am Your witness to the world. I am Your servant. I am to tell the world what I have seen from You, and what You will show me in the future. My story is important. My encounters with You and how You meet me, interrupt me, and redirect my life are to be shared. I believe everyone has a story and we are all works in progress. Sharing our stories is powerful. It promotes understanding, grows compassion and empathy, and makes us all realize that we are more alike than different.

P~ Lord, I pray that sharing my stories bears clear witness to You and Your redemptive power. I am such a mess without You, but with You I have purpose. I love You!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on October 26, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

