October 24 Job 15; Acts 19,20

Join our online study through the book of John at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Hard Words | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Job, chapter 15  (Eliphaz the Temanite’s response to Job)

O~ This was Job’s friend.  Yes his friend.  You wouldn’t think so by all the things he is saying to Job.  But nonetheless he was Job’s friend and thought he was helping.

A~ This reminds me that as much as I think I know about a person’s life or situation, I am not God, and I don’t know everything.  From this I also learn that I need to bring my thoughts to God and pray for the person and seek his wisdom in order to truly help someone.

P~ Heavenly Father, thank you for friends who are willing to say the hard things to me. Please give me discernment to know what is from you and what is not, and to know when to say something and what to say. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Worth Nothing | Kim Chipman

S~ But my life is worth nothing to me unless I use it for finishing the work assigned me by the Lord Jesus—the work of telling others the Good News about the wonderful grace of God. Acts 20:24 (NLT)

O~ My desire is to have the focus and fervor of Paul.

A/P~ I know what Your assignment is for me right now. Help Paul’s passion to be contagious to my heart. My life is Yours. Help me to feel fulfilled when I am finishing the work assigned to me – nothing else is even close to that important. I love You!

Work Hard in Order to Give More | Susan Aken

S~ In everything I showed you that by working hard in this manner you must help the weak and remember the words of the Lord Jesus, that He Himself said, ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’ Acts 20:35 (NASB)

O~ Paul is speaking to the elders of Ephesus probably for the last time face to face. He reminds them of how he has not ceased to preach the gospel, how he has worked to support himself and not taken money from anyone. He warns them of those who will try to deceive them. Then he gives the message in verse 35. They should follow his example by working hard and helping the weak and remembering that Jesus said we are much happier when we give than when we receive.

A~ Paul urges us to work hard, to help the weak (powerless, needy, poor) and to focus on giving not receiving. He is also our example in this. God has been helping me to grow in this area for years. I have had to struggle against being greedy and thinking of what I have as mine. In the past I have not really lived by the idea that it is more blessed to give than to receive. But God in His grace has been teaching me the truth. He has used people in my life, His word and the opportunities He has given me to give to show me the truth of His statement. I want to keep growing in this area. I want to come to the place Paul was at where I see the primary purpose in working to be so that I can give. Right now I think I see giving as secondary to meeting my own needs, desires and wants. But God is teaching me. He is so loving and patient

P~ Thank you Father for all you have taught me. Thank you that you don’t give up on me. I know that everything I have and am is a gift from you. It is all by grace. All I have belongs to you. Please use it for your glory. Help me get to the place where I see the primary purpose for what I have is so I can give to those in need. Thank you that you are so patient with me Lord. I love you.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on October 24, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

