October 21 Job 9,10; Acts 13,14

Join our online study through the book of John at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

True in Principle | Kim Chipman

S~ Then Job spoke again: “Yes, I know all this is true in principle. But how can a person be declared innocent in God’s sight? Job 9:1-2 (NLT) 

O~ Job is lamenting his current situation. His friends aren’t being super supportive, actually. He is sick, in pain, hand has lost everything. He is responding to his friends, who assume HE did something wrong.

A~ What stood out to me in his response is, “Yes, I know this is true in principle” How often in my walk to I feel this way! My brain understands the truth, but in light of circumstances it just seems like a nice principle. It is really in walking through life that Your truth is made real. I don’t want to understand You “in principle” I want to KNOW You. I understand that means coming out of my comfort zone and going through some junk. And honestly I can say, having gone through some junk in my life so far, that knowing You intimately is completely worth it. On my own I would just sit in my comfort. You don’t want me know know ABOUT You but to KNOW YOU.

I want that, too.

P~ Thank You for loving me enough to bump things into my comfort and take me to a deeper place with You. I want to KNOW YOU. I love You!

There is a Mediator! | Susan Aken

S~ If only there were someone to mediate between us, someone to bring us together, someone to remove God’s rod from me, so that his terror would frighten me no more. Then I would speak up without fear of him, but as it now stands with me, I cannot. Job 9:33-35 (NIV)

O~ Job is trying to make sense of all his suffering. One of his friends in Ch. 8 has told him that if he can prove his innocence, God will not reject him. Job knows he cannot prove innocence and then he makes the statement in v. 33, ‘If only there were someone to mediate.’ The awesome truth is that God did send someone to mediate! Jesus came to mediate and bring us to God. Jesus came to remove the rod of God from us. Jesus came to remove the terror of facing God. Job could only look forward to the hope of a mediator. We know our mediator lives!

A/P~ Thank you Jesus for coming to earth to bridge the gap between our heavenly Father and us! Thank you for taking the punishment for our sin and for facing the wrath of God so that we don’t have to. Thank you that because of You we can come boldly to the throne of grace. We don’t have to come in fear of being punished for our sins. Praise your Holy name!

A mediator | Nikki Metzger

S~ If only there were a mediator between us, someone who could bring us together.  The mediator could make God stop beating me, and I would no longer live in terror of His punishment.  Then I could speak to Him without fear, but I cannot do that in my own strength.  Job 9:33-35 (NLT)

O~ If only……can you hear Job’s desperation?  He knows he is innocent, but he also knows that he is guilty before God.

Job in the midst of his brokenness, recognizing the need of a mediator.  A mediator that brings God and men together, one who bridges a way for man and God to talk, and one who takes away fear.

A~ Jesus!!  The mediator that Job wanted between God and himself!  We have You!

P~ Thank You Jesus for being the mediator between me and God!  For removing my fear and advocating for me to God!  I Love You!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on October 21, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

