October 19 Job 5; Psalms 108; Acts 10,11

Join our online study through the book of John at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Help! | Kelley DeAses

S~ Save us and help us with your right hand, that those you love may be delivered. Psalm 108:6 (NIV)

O~ The psalms are the perfect place to go when you are in the thick of real life.  There you can find praises to the King from the heights of jubilation to groaning laments for rescue from physical harm or emotional distress.

A~ This verse jumped out at me today because it is one of those days!  I know my complaints are minor in comparison to life and death health issues and some of the grave ills that plague this fallen world, but I feel as though I am suffering under spiritual attack, specifically on two fronts: one is the discipline of my daily quiet time with Jesus, and the other is our family’s finances.  Over two weeks ago, I resolved to be more consistent about getting up early and resisting the temptation to use that time alone in the house to begin the list of to-do’s for that day.  Another “Discover One Thing” blogger and I determined to text one another each morning for accountability.  And for a time it was working flawlessly.  What a perfect start I had to those days which started with time in the Word.  I was also enjoying greater consistency in posting my notes as God was revealing insights.  But then I started having insomnia to the point that it began to interfere with my focus and intentionality to devote my “first fruits” to the Lord.  Also, as my husband and I have resolved to do the steps of Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace plan in earnest, we are running into challenges  in making a budget, sticking to a budget, and unexpected big ticket items.  Today I was not doing well to find our bank balance was at a low with the number of days until payday still high.  Especially on so little sleep!

P~ Father, Just as David cried out to You to save and help him, so I can muster no other than that sincere prayer for myself.

Help! | Susan Aken

S~ Give us aid against the enemy, for human help is worthless. Psalm 108:12 (NIV)

O~ David writes this Psalm to the LORD God knowing He is the only source for help.

A~ Our world is filled with terrible enemies right now. From ISIS to Ebola it can seem overwhelming. We sometimes ask, “Who is going to stop Isis?” or “What can we do to stop this disease?” And these are only 2 of our many enemies. But this Psalm reminds us that human help is worthless. God is the only one who can save.

P~ Please help us LORD! We need you. Show Yourself strong throughout the world against our enemies. Rescue those being persecuted. Please stop this terrible virus. You are the only one who can help. We look to you God for wisdom, power and strength.

Mighty Things | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ With God’s help we will do mighty things, for he will trample down our foes.  Psalm 108:13  (NLT)

O~ Sometimes I forget what you can do and the troubles seem bigger.  But you, Lord God, creator of everything, are able to do mighty things and with your help, we will do mighty things.

A~ My brain hurts from too much thinking.  Thinking about my son; how to help him, what to say.  Is there something I should be doing?  I go back and forth in my mind from trying to mother him as I did when he was little to remembering that he’s almost 19 and has to make his own decisions.  This is hard. Hard for me, but not for You, God.

P~ Father, please help me.  I lay my thoughts captive to you.  I ask you for wisdom for my hubby and I, and I trust that you will give it to us.  Please help our son. Trample down our foes and bring victory in his life.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Lord of ALL | Kim Chipman

S~ Then Peter replied, “I see very clearly that God shows no favoritism. In every nation he accepts those who fear him and do what is right. This is the message of Good News for the people of Israel—that there is peace with God through Jesus Christ, who is Lord of all. Acts 10:34-36 (NLT)

O~ In Peter’s time it was unheard of that Jews and Gentiles would associate with one another. But God does not see people this way. God sees hearts – hearts that respect God can have His peace, wherever they are from.

A~ This truth is the same now! What people around me have I written off? Do I judge others? If I am going to be able to love others towards You – towards Your amazing grace and peace – then I have to see people – ALL people – the way You see them. Not as a label – rich/poor, smart/stupid, wise/idiot, worthy/unworthy, gay/straight, worthy/unworthy…You don’t see *anyone* this way. You see each one as worthy – worthy of Your Son, worthy of Your love, worthy of Your grace, WORTHY! You are the Lord of ALL! Valued, treasured, forgiven, redeemed, covered. No matter where people are from, what they have done or failed to do – none of it makes them any less worthy of Your amazing grace and peace.

P~ Lord, help me to see people as You see them, as valued and equal. Our hearts are what You desire. Help me to truly see past all that detracts from remembering this beautiful truth. Help me to lead many to peace with You through Jesus Christ. I love you!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on October 19, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

