October 18 Job 3,4; Acts 8,9

Join our online study through the book of John at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Why? | Kelley DeAses

S~ Job: ” Why did I not perish at birth and die as I came from the womb?”  (3:11)

Eliphaz: “Your words have supported those who stumbled; you have strengthened faltering knees.” (4:4)

O~ Finding himself utterly bereft and despairing, as well as in physical pain, Job wonders aloud why God even saw fit to have him be born at all, if this miserable state would be his condition in the end.  One of Job’s friends recounts how Job had formerly been not only blessed but a blessing to others.

A~ My son called from college yesterday to say he had decided, after praying and seeking wise counsel, to change his major.  His calling to youth ministry remains firm, but he is dissatisfied with his current course of study.  His call prompted a discussion between my husband and myself about consulting God before making major life decisions.  We both have come to realize that we could have spared ourselves a lot of pain along the way if we had not been so hasty and so willful — him in his course of study/choice of profession; me in my decision who to marry.  After my marriage fell apart and I found myself in a pit of despair, I asked some Job-like questions.  Not necessarily “Why was I ever born?” but “Why did I ever get married? Why would God allow that union to take place if it would result in soul-crushing pain to me and cause our son to struggle with loss and rejection over many years?”  It took some time and healing to come to terms with how it was my stubborn free will that got me into that mess, as I failed to consult God in the matter and even ignored some red flags I can now see He was putting in my path, but it was God who ultimately brought beauty out of the ashes.  Through that marriage, I was blessed with an amazing son, whom I cannot imagine life without.  And out of a painful divorce, I have a beautiful testimony of God’s faithfulness I have been able to share with others going through similar trials.

P~ Thank You that You have a purpose in everything.  And even when I have failed to do things Your way, You, in Your mercy, have turned my messes into beautiful testimonies.  I am humbled by Your goodness to me.

Innocent? | Kim Chipman

S~ ‘Can a mortal be innocent before God? Can anyone be pure before the Creator?’ Job 4:17 (NLT)

O~ Eliphaz is responding to Job. Poor Job just lost his family and all of his possessions (which were MANY) and now is in extreme physical pain. He wishes he were never born. Eliphaz claims a vision from God and claims a spirit posed this question.

A~ I’m no scholar, but I’m not so sure this came from God, myself. As I read this question my answer is…YES! A moral CAN be innocent before God! YES! Through Jesus Christ! YES! Anyone can be pure before the Creator! That is the power and purpose of Jesus’ sacrifice! He paid the price for my sin so I would appear innocent before You, Lord.

To me, this “truth given in secret…whispered in my ear” (v12) sounds a lot more like a whisper from the father of lies himself. Eliphaz is trying to place the blame on Job for the circumstances he finds himself in. Trying to place blame is such wasted energy, seriously. I know You are trying to show me a truth about blame – it isn’t clear to me what that is, yet. I see it as paralyzing, though. I can’t grow and mature if my heart is focused on blame. I need to take personal responsibility for that which I have control over and trust You for the rest

P~ Help me to hear Your voice, know Your voice and Your quiet whispers. Help me to share Your truth and love with my friends in encouragement. Job’s friends aren’t very awesome encouragers. I love You!.

You Got Me | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But the believers who had fled Jerusalem went everywhere preaching the Good News about Jesus.  Acts 8:4  (NLT)

O~ The believers were greatly persecuted (verse 1).  Saul was going from house to house dragging believers to jail (verse 3).  The believers who fled went everywhere preaching.

A~ The persecution that the believers suffered didn’t paralyze them or turn them from their faith.  In fact, they went everywhere preaching the Good News about Jesus.

P~ Heavenly Father, I turn inward when faced with suffering and persecution.  That does not bring me life.  Instead, I experience fear, and anxiety. I want to trust you completely, help me to trust you completely through everything, and know that you got me.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

She was Always…. | Susan Aken

S~ In Joppa there was a disciple named Tabitha (in Greek her name is Dorcas); she was always dong good and helping the poor. Acts 9:36 (NIV)

O~ Tabitha was a disciple of Jesus who lived in Joppa and as described here was always doing good and helping the poor. Another translation says she was “abounding with deeds of kindness and charity which she continually did.” The word for abounding means, “filled up” or “permeated with”. She had died and all the widows were crying and mourning (all people she had ministered to no doubt).

A~ Thanks to the grace and power of God Peter brought Tabitha (Dorcas) back to life. But before that a fitting epitaph for her would have been, ‘She was always doing good and helping the poor.’ It makes me wonder what mine would be. She was always­­­­­­­­­­­­­_____. What would it say? What am I known for? I cringe to think it might be said, ‘She was always complaining.” Or ‘She was always so fearful.’ Or even something as lame as ‘She was always so quiet.’ All of these could (may) have been said about me at one time or another. I want my always to be what brings glory to God.

P~ Father, I want my life to bring glory to you. I want my life to make a mark for you and not for myself. I don’t want to leave without knowing my life made ripples for you. I don’t want to leave the water undisturbed or to leave a negative impact. Please by the power of your Holy Spirit help my life to leave an impact for you. I can’t do that in my strength but only by your power in me.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on October 18, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

