October 14 Nehemiah 11,12; Psalms 1; Acts 3

Join our online study through the book of John at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

This Is Your Life…..Are You Who You Want To Be? | Kelley DeAses

S~ Blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked or stand in the way of sinners or sit in the seat of mockers.  Psalm 1:1 (NIV)

O~ My study Bible informs me that “blessed” as used here means happy or full of joy as a result of having a right relationship with God.  “Counsel,” quite naturally, means advice.  “Way” means behavior. “Seat” means position or mental attitude.  So this verse , paraphrased, might read: “If you want a life marked by joy, don’t take advice from, act like, or adopt the attitudes of bad people.”

A~ My husband was telling me about an inmate at the correctional facility where he works.  Certain men, both inmates and officers, will try to engage in conversation with my husband, who is fairly outspoken about his faith in Jesus Christ, for wise counsel or prayer or encouragement.  My husband reported that this man, by all appearances, should have everything going for him: tall, muscular physique, good-looking, articulate, intelligent, and outgoing.  But he is listening to the wrong voices.  Voices that tell him he is a worthless loser who could never be other than a druggie, a divorce’, and a criminal.  His heart yearns to get out of jail and into the lives of  his children, but he can’t even fathom or imagine what a clean, sober, and healthy life would look like.

P~ Father, Give this man, this daddy, a glimpse, Lord, of how You see him — loved and able to give love; victorious over his addictions and circumstances; broken, yes, but able to be redeemed and made whole by the grace of God.

Meditate | Kim Chipman

S~ But they delight in the law of the Lordmeditating on it day and night. They are like trees planted along the riverbank, bearing fruit each season. Their leaves never wither, and they prosper in all they do.  Psalm 1:2-3 (NLT)

O/A~ If I want to be joyful – fruitful – consistent – and I DO desire these things – I want stability in each season – when life is relatively good and when it is stressful and challenging – so, HOW?

Meditate on Your Word day and night.

I have found myself *very* distracted lately. Part of it is my season of life – husband + 4 teen/tween kids + activities + work + + + + +…it’s a busy season. When I’m distracted, though, I’m not terribly fruitful. I get lots of things 1/2 way done, started but not finished, projects not followed through like I should… A big, big, big part of it is my thought life. Lately I struggle with staying focused and on task. Part of me knows that we are in a spiritual battle and there is an enemy that seeks to steal, kill, and destroy me (John 10:10), and he will pull me away from you however he can that little manipulative poop head. Intentionally choosing what to allow to roll around in my thoughts (Your Word) is the way I can bear fruit for You through each season – even the crazy busy ones!

Meditate on Your Word day and night.

P~ Lord, help me to choose thoughts fixed on You and Your truth. Help me to reign in my runaway, distracted head for You. I love You!

Wiped Away | Susan Aken

S~ Therefore repent and return, so that your sins may be wiped away, in order that times of refreshing may come from the presence of the Lord; and that He may send Jesus, the Christ appointed for you, whom heaven must receive until the period of restoration of all things about which God spoke by the mouth of His holy prophets from ancient time. Acts 3:19-21 (NASB)

O~ Peter is preaching to the people who came to see the man who was just healed. As always, he points them to Jesus. He doesn’t just say repent so your sins are forgiven but so your sins may be wiped away. What good news! Jesus doesn’t just forgive our sins; He wipes them away! And, even more good news, He does that so we can find refreshment from the presence of the Lord. We don’t have to come to Him in shame; we can come to Him clean and being refreshed by being with Him. Then, at the right time, Jesus will return as God has promised.

A/P~ Jesus, I am so thankful I can come to you and be refreshed in your presence. I don’t have to come carrying the weight of my sin. I have given that to you and you wiped it away. I rejoice in knowing you! I am so thankful for your grace and forgiveness and that you will return some day.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on October 14, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

