October 13 Nehemiah 9,10; Acts 2

Join our online study through the book of John at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Cut to the Heart and Moved to Action | Kelley DeAses

S~ When the people heard this, they were cut to the heart and said to Peter and the other apostles, “Brothers, what shall we do?”  Acts 2:37 (NIV)

O~ After the Holy Spirit came into the apostles, Peter spoke boldly to the gathering crowd.  He explained that Jesus was the Messiah who had come to fulfill the prophecies of old, but in the fulfillment of those prophecies and God’s plan for the redemption of the world’s sin, Jesus had been crucified on a cross at the hands of the Jews and with the help of wicked men.  The people who heard this were “cut to the heart” and compelled to do something with the news they had heard.

A~ The other night, my husband and I attended a lecture at our son’s school on the topic of the Common Core curriculum working its way into most public schools around the country.  I admit my ignorance on this whole subject as, come to find out, Nebraska is one of only a small handful of states which have not adopted it.  In addition, my boys have always attended private, not federally-funded, schools.  But it was disconcerting, to say the least, to learn that a curriculum created by a few people in Washington D.C. (not teachers!) is being pushed as the benchmark for what this country’s young people need to learn.  That curriculum allows for feelings and subjectivity in place of objectively right or wrong answers, and it is interwoven with social and political agendas, not even age-appropriate at that, which have no place in the classroom until, perhaps, the college level.  After we heard this new information about what was going on, many of us were pretty fired up, but none of us were quite clear on what we should be doing in the face of our enthusiastic outrage.

P~ Father, Awaken our passions and sensitivities to be deeply moved about those things which are close to Your heart…., and then instruct us what to do about it!

JOY | Kim Chipman

S~ And all the believers met together in one place and shared everything they had. They worshiped together at the Temple each day, met in homes for the Lord’s Supper, and shared their meals with great joy and generosity— Acts 2:44, 46 (NLT)

O~ Pentecost ~ the Holy Spirit comes ~ Peter preaches ~ the believers form a beautiful community. They meet together and share all their material possessions. They worship together and eat meals together with GREAT JOY and generosity.

A~ This is a beautiful picture to me of what God intends the church to be:  a joyful, generous, healthy, loving, giving community. This would be very attractive to an unbelieving world….everyone coming together in unity and support of one another.

How can I create this environment? I would love for our home to be a place of joy, love, and community. How can I create this in my church? In my neighborhood? Seems that continual filling with the Holy Spirit by communing with YOU on a regular basis would help the fruit of Your Spirit flow from me more freely. That’s what unified the believers then and what can fulfill Your purpose now. JOY comes from You. Along with love, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self control. Attractive qualities that draw people toward you.

P~ Lord, help me to create a joyful community in my home for Your glory. I know I’m prone to be critical and particular about things. I love You so much!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on October 13, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I started to investigate but immediately found comments that I would call political. I often feel that as a Christian who is not politically conservative -though I share some positions with brothers and sisters who describe themselves as conservative Christians – that I do not pass a litmus test. Often if I share an opinion that is in any way divergent the label liberal is applied and discussion of the scripture involved stops.I have been searching for a study that does not appear to embrace a perspective formed through the lens of conservative politics. I am interested in learning about what God says and not in following a political movement. Conservative Christians can demand a form of political correctness in faith.

    • Mary, So glad you stopped by! The heart of our ministry is to know God personally by reading His Word and encouraging others to do the same. As a ministry team, we share our personal devotion time in an effort to provide accountability for others to have their own time with the Lord by reading His Word. Sometimes our personal time could hit on a topic that could be political, I suppose. I would say, however, that I am also interested in learning about what God has to say…listening to the whisper of the Holy Spirit for how to apply Scripture to my life as a wife, a mom, an employee, a friend, etc. We are not a political movement, and I am not a conservative Christian politically, myself. I am politically quite moderate, which I would imagine to a conservative could be viewed as liberal. The heart of our ministry is not politics, however. We exist to know Him and make Him known through reading and applying His Word each day. I would encourage and invite you to join us in seeking Him, you are welcome here!

Leave a Reply

