October 12 Nehemiah 7,8; Acts 1

Join our online study through the book of John at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Unified Purpose | Kim Chipman

S~ all the people assembled with a unified purpose at the square just inside the Water Gate. They asked Ezra the scribe to bring out the Book of the Law of Moses, which the Lord had given for Israel to obey. Nehemiah 8:1 (NLT)

O~ The Israelites returned to Jerusalem after captivity and rebuilt the city. They rebuilt the walls and reorganized the people. Then, Nehemiah and Ezra assembled all the people with a unified purpose: to hear God’s laws, help the people to understand them, and lead them in obeying them.

A~ This focused purpose should be our same focused and unified purpose today – whether in my home or in the body of believers. The people had strayed far from God, which we all do without consistent, intentional effort otherwise. Nehemiah reminded them that the joy of the Lord is their strength! The joy of reading, listening, understanding and obeying Your Word is my JOY and STRENGTH! Just as they praised You and realized Your holiness and their sinfulness so, too, can consistently choosing Your Word help me to see my sinfulness and Your holiness and joyfully serve You! Just as the people in this chapter listened to Your words once, then went back in greater detail to discover exactly what You wanted them to do, I must do the same.

P~ Thank You for Your Word and the examples in it for me to follow. Thank You for Your Spirit that speaks to my heart. I love You!

Yours and Mine | Kelley DeAses

S~ He said to them, “It is not for you to know the time or dates the Father has set by his own authority.”  Acts 1:7 (NIV)

O~ It is indeed part of our shared human experience to be in the dark about so many aspects of this life on earth.  When will our baby be born?  When, if ever, will that child make a decision for Christ?  When and who will he marry?  How much time will he have on this earth?  How much time will I have?  Will Jesus return in my lifetime?  So many questions without answers.  It’s as if God is saying, “These things are for Me to know.  Don’t you worry; I will handle it.”  Our job then is to simply let God be God. (Oh, if it were only that simple!)

A~ So if it is in God’s job description to know the timing of world events on down to the number of my days, which have all been established by His Sovereign Hand, what then am I do to?  Only what I can do, with my limited scope of knowledge and finite reach.  Here’s what I do know: I know I am to “Seek justice, love mercy, and walk humbly with my God.”  I know I am to “Love the Lord my God with all my heart, soul, mind, and strength.”  I know I am to “Love my neighbor as myself.” And I know I am to “Go and make disciples.” That list is a tall enough order without concerning myself with the date and time the world will come to an end.  I think I’ll just let My Heavenly Father deal with that one, while I just do what I have been called to do.

P~ Father, It is not for me to know every answer.  It’s for You and You alone.  I could not bear the weight of it anyway.  Help me to fully embrace what is mine to know and, more importantly, what is mine to DO.

I Need You | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  But when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, you will receive power and will tell people about me everywhere… Acts 1:8 (NLT)

O~  Jesus tells his disciples they will be baptized with the Holy Spirit (verse 5) and that they will receive power to do the work he called them to do.

A~  This spoke truth, encouragement, comfort and strength to my heart this morning.   Yesterday we received devastating news—my son is experimenting with drugs.  It breaks my heart when I think of the destruction this has already begun to cause in his life and his blindness to the dangers of it. But I am reminded here to turn to you, Lord, for power from the Holy Spirit for the journey ahead.  I am also reminded here that waiting on you, praying, and trusting you for guidance is the best “proactive” thing I can do right now.

P~  Dear Jesus, thank you for these words that speak to me now.  Please empower my husband and I now through the Holy Spirit for the journey ahead.  Please speak truth to my son and help him.  Help us to help him.   We need you.  My son needs you. Please help him.  I love you.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on October 12, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Luisa, I am so sorry! How painful. Nothing hurts the heart of a parent more than to receive painful news about a child. Please Lord, help Luisa’s son to come to the truth soon. Protect him from making decisions that would destroy him. Open his eyes Jesus. And please give comfort and strength to Luisa and her husband.

Leave a Reply

