December 6 Philippians 1,2,3,4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

There I Went… Again | Robin Laney

S~ Their end is destruction, their god is their belly, and they glory in their shame, with minds set on earthly things. But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, Philippians 3:19-20 (ESV)

O~ As Christians, Paul is warning us not to get sidetracked by earthly desires, instead keeping our focus firmly on who we belong to.

A~ Tough day today. After an incredible day at the jail yesterday, I ended my day (and began today) focused on my own earthly desires. You would think I would know after 18 years of walking with Christ that 1) the enemy of my soul isn’t going to stay silent when Jesus’ name is lifted up, 2) when my focus shifts from what He wants to what I want and what I think I need things get ugly and God is anything but glorified, and 3) when I care more about serving myself than others, both of us get hurt.

I should have listened to the Holy Spirit as I woke today, but I didn’t. His wisdom was more than direct and clear.

I should have gone to His word before a word was spoken, but I didn’t. If I had, I would have read this and our day might not have been wasted.

Even so, I am thankful to end my day with His word that reminds me to stay on the path, keep focused on the prize, and to remember that this world is not my home. It’s all about His glory, not my comfort.

P~ I am so sorry, Father, to have lost focus and to have hurt others by my selfishness. Thank You for showing me Your Truth and for calling me back to You. This world is not my home and I long to be with You and, at the same time, love the life that You have given me and the purpose You have called me into. Help me to keep my eyes on You.

Perfectly Placed | Kelley Deases

S~ Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near.  Philippians 4:5 (NIV)

O~ When we talk about Scripture being God-breathed, living and active, and Divinely inspired, we are not just speaking about the words themselves, but the placement and order of those words. Here, Paul, in his letter to the Philippians, calls them to be gentle and to let this gentleness show outwardly. But in the very next breath, Paul assures them, and us, of the Lord’s nearness.

A~ In our Bible study the other day, which includes several moms of very young children, the conversation turned to how we are much better at showing love and patience to others, but sometimes not so good with those under our own roofs. We all desire to be sweet and gentle to our little ones, taking every opportunity to patiently guide them through their missteps and encourage them in their successes, but we all seem to come up short as mommies, succumbing to impatience, hunger, exhaustion, selfishness, and just plain, “Give me a break already!”

But Paul’s words encourage me, as I hope they will encourage my fellow mommies, that, yes, we should show gentleness, but at the same time, God is near to us. He is our “ever present help in times of trouble.” Psalm 46:1  All we have to do is turn to Him and call on His Name. Where we are pitifully weak, He will show Himself strong.

P~ Father, I am humbled that every time I am obedient to open Your Word, You know just what to say to me — to calm my anxious spirit, to bolster my plans (or thwart them if need be), to begin to heal the broken places. Thank You that You would speak to me at all, but even more, that You (and You alone) always know the perfect thing to say.

Awestruck Moments Provide Strength | Deanna George

S~ I can do all things through him who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13 (NIV)

O~ No matter what my circumstances are, Christ is going to give me the strength to go on!

A~ I was raised to memorize and claim this scripture in my life. I did, but as I got older the problems, the decisions, and the consequences of my actions got more important, and they would also affect my husband and children. Even though life is scarier and harder than when I was a kid, this strength from Christ is seen and felt in much simpler ways. My strength comes from “God sightings” in my daily life. Simple things like God waking me when my alarm did not go off, so that I didn’t cause my kids to start their day in a panic, scrambling to get ready, and wonder if there would be time to eat breakfast. It is the nudging to look at the calendar to make sure I haven’t forgotten something, and lo and behold, I did but there was still enough time to get there. It is the encouragement to get out of bed when I’m having a day that I feel like I can’t handle anymore. The strength builds when I listen, and then a glimpse of accomplishment comes when something gets done because I acted upon God’s presence in my life. He is providing me the guidance and strength that is needed. This year’s focus on seeing God’s hand in my daily life brings me to this moment of seeing how he is providing me strength. I had no idea how important it was to get in the habit of looking for “awestruck” ( what I called God sightings this year) moments at the beginning of this year, but these moments are bringing me through the most challenging situation of my life. It is providing me with strength to make it through each day. This is a habit I never want to break!

P~ Lord Jesus, thank you for placing “awestruck” theme in my heart for this year. It has made my year so focused on you. It has provided the evidence that you are right here with me daily. It has provided me strength to face the new day because I knew you would be there. It has given me strength, that I did not have on my own, and that you said you would provide. Please keep me focused on seeing these “awestruck” moments! THANK YOU!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Leave a comment